I Almost Didn’t Live to See 2011.

Most of you will remember yesterday as the last day of 2010 (or some variation thereof), but in my mind, it will forever be thought of as The Day that Erin Tried to Kill Me.

Rather than lying in a pool of my own blood, I ended up lying a pool of my own sweat.

blog 2092

Some of you slept in and relaxed your way into party preparations for the evening; instead, I melted my AZZ off – Wicked Witch of the West style – and crashed for the afternoon before doing the divalicious NYE thang.

The slaughter began with a disgustingly early 7 AM wakeup call and a new energy bar:blog 2096

This Blueberry Blast 3Bar reminded me a lot of a LaraBar in texture and flavor, but slightly bigger. It’s a shame that I find both LaraBars and these 3Bars dry and a bit bland :/

Within two hours, dry didn’t sound like such a bad thing!

blog 2093

This was my first hot yoga class, and I didn’t know quite what to expect. I’m always cold, so at first the ninety degree room felt like a dream…but then I realized that we were expected to move around in said room, and the deliciousness of the heat instantly dissipated.

An hour and a half later, I was the true embodiment of hot mess! I felt a hundred times looser and lighter, though, just as the teacher promised. I felt like I’d sweated out the toxins of 2010 and I left everything that didn’t suit me this year in the studio.

In the name of the new year, I hit the bar – the Whole Foods hot bar, that is – and crashed for a few hours to revive my energy for the real evening ahead…

NYE

Happy 2011 all! Hope it’s not too rough of a morning for you all ;)

10 Comments on “I Almost Didn’t Live to See 2011.”

  1. i would love to try hot yoga!! sounds pretty intense!!

  2. I’ve always wanted to try hot yoga! I think I would probably react the same way, seeing as I am always chilly. After a few minutes I’d probably cry though, because whenever I work out I get really hot and always open up the window!

  3. Wow, you’re brave!! I’ve wanted to try hot yoga for a while now but never really knew how it would feel.. Now I HAVE to give it a try :P

  4. I really need to try this hot yoga thing! Sounds intense! Happy 2011 :)

  5. Never tried hot yoga before…..maybe I will now! =D
    Happy 2011!

  6. Hahahahah – hot yoga sounds amazing.
    Happy New Year, girl!
    xoxo

  7. Kayla says:

    I really want to try hot yoga! One of the workout videos I have has a 5 minute warm up of hot yoga and it always gets my heart pumping! I can only imagine what a whole class of it would be like!

  8. LOL – I was scared when I read your post title! Hot yoga hey … sounds sweaty :-)

  9. kbwood says:

    Oh man I SO want to try hot yoga!
    Your comment was beautiful, God is always there girl! I promise He will ROCK YOUR WORLD in 2011 if you let Him!! I pray you can find a church home and encouraging people around you.

  10. Sofia says:

    I am obsessed with hot yoga (non-bikram, of course). Seriously. I’m starting a month unlimited at a great studio in a couple of days when I return from vacation, and I can’t flippin wait. The first time is rough, but you can sometimes become an addict. Be careful!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.