Looks Like I Made It

I made it through a wardrobe crisis that nearly made me late for work:

blog 2116

Juicy Couture top; Anthropologie skirt; Payless shoes. It’s all about the high-low mix, yo.

I made it from my desk to Annie’s, a Greek restaurant a few blocks from my office, then back to my desk in half an hour flat.

blog 2119

I made it two point five seconds between parking myself at my desk and inhaling lunch from said restaurant.

Seven dollars scored me the vegetarian platter, which came with a hummus mountain, tabbouleh salad, grape leaves, and handmade pita.

blog 2121

Even though everyone at the office raves about Annies, I was underwhelmed. The hummus was rich and creamy but it was topped with a valley of olive oil; the tabbouleh was equally oil-laden. The dolmades were on the skinny side – YES, size matters! – and the pita had a great chewy factor but were disappointingly flat.

Somehow I made it through the meal, however ;)

After making it through another workday, I had an hour to blow before a yoga class, so I hit up Austin’s Coffee & Film in Winter Park.

blog 2126

I don’t know which I loved more: the Degas-inspired table or the toffee nut coffee with soy milk! They also offered organic wine, vegan baked goods (hellllo chocolate chip cookies!) and vegetarian sandwiches, but I was en route to a major sweat sesh and didn’t want an overly full stomach.

I then proceeded to make it through seventy five minutes of excruciating hot yoga. Just when I started to think I wasn’t going to make it through one more series or hold crow for one more second…I pulled through. Major props to this body of mine for hanging in there.

Life throws us a ton of crazy curve balls. We have to let go of things we don’t want to let go of, take steps that we’d rather not take, all while finding that inner reserve of gumption to pull us through it.

Lying in savasana tonight, I almost started crying and laughing at the same time. Out of nowhere, the realization hit me: challenges don’t ever go away; life isn’t perfectly smooth sailing, easy decisions, and perfect endings. It’s bumpy, it’s rocky, and sometimes it hurts. Regardless of how crazy things seem at the moment and how much you wish you had an easier option than pushing through, there’s so much strength – physical, mental, or emotional – to be found at the other end of whatever you’re dealing with.

Life goes on.

We move forward.

Breathe.

We’re gonna make it.

18 Comments on “Looks Like I Made It”

  1. Katy says:

    Love this post! Especially the end. It’s so true!

    Your outfit is super adorable! :D

  2. Awesome post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And that skirt is super cute! =D

  3. What was the wardrobe crisis? Love the mix of hi and lo ;)

  4. It sounds like you’re doing well, even after a trying period in your life.
    And that outfit is cute! I’ve been feeling like one big wardrobe crisis lately…

  5. Picky Nicky says:

    Wow, what a wise post :) I really loved reading it! Your outfit is adorable by the way!

  6. cuuute outfit! I wish I could afford Juicy! I went to their store over break and everything was like 40% off and I STILL couldn’t buy anything! I will make do with their perfume haha
    And…the toffee nut coffee sounds delish!

  7. That food looks so good! I love tabbouleh.

    Cute outfit too!

    ~Lisa

  8. girl you are rocking that skirt – it is totally adorable on you :)
    ps. pita + hummus = delicious combination!

  9. i LOVE the high waisted skirt you got!

  10. Ah Austin’s is SCREAMING my name. it looks so up my alley. Cute skirt!

  11. Oooh, nice post! Made me smile :)

  12. I seriously can’t even look at the photo of you. You look gorgeous, of course, but I am shivering just looking at it! It’s so cold outside where I am right now, and I wouldn’t be caught dead in a skirt :P

  13. Your outfit is super cute girl!!! You look beautiful!

  14. Gina says:

    You’re workin’ that outfit girl :)
    Lunch looked delicious, I love hummus!

  15. Great post. You’re going to be JUST FINE! Even though life has changed for the better, it’s still stressful, so no wonder you were having emotions like that in your class. Love the outfit too, and the Degas table. Take care!

  16. Your outfit is balling and that Film & Park sounds like some place I need to be!!

    Your last four lines are pretty epic as well ;)

  17. I love your outfit…and am super jealous that you can wear something like that in January!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.