Raw Balsamic Zucchini “Pickles”

I really, really hate pickles. I hate them so much that I legitimately worry about my future pregnancy cravings.

Before you even ask, I have a LONG time before that even comes into play!

That’s not to say that during certain times of the month (ahem), there’s nothing I want more than a briny, salty and crunchy snack.

Enter my new favorite summer munchie: raw balsamic zucchini “pickles.”

076

All of the tang with none of the actual pickle-ness? (And none of the babies, thank you very much?) I’m in love!

077

Raw Balsamic Zucchini “Pickles”

Vegan, Raw, Gluten-Free

Makes two servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1/8 cup light balsamic dressing (such as Newman’s Own)
  • Sprinkle of sea salt

Directions:

  • Slice zucchini in half, then into slim spears.
  • In a shallow dish, arrange zucchini slivers and drizzle with dressing. Sprinkle salt over the top, cover and allow to marinate overnight (or longer).
  • Snack your face off (side of ice cream optional)

079

I wonder what would come of a zucchini relish…

Do you ever get random cravings for foods you know you dislike? Do you go with it or try to find an alternative?

8 Comments on “Raw Balsamic Zucchini “Pickles””

  1. Jenny says:

    I’ve never had raw zucchini before, I love the touch with the balsamic vinegar :D

  2. Great idea! I don’t mind a dill pickle now and again, but I love the idea of using balsamic as an alternative!

  3. Sonia says:

    You hate pickles and I hate raw zucchini- hahah! The only way I will eat raw zuke is as spiralized pasta, but even then it’s a big much toward the end of the bowl.

  4. sunshinevegan says:

    I love pickles but I really like the idea of these balsamic zucchini pickles! Such a creative idea :)

  5. biz319 says:

    I love, love, love pickles! Sorry you don’t, but I like your idea – and I’ve never eaten raw zucchini – I need to try that!

  6. Love this idea, because I LOOOVE pickles!

  7. LauraJayne says:

    This looks really good – and since I like pickles (not pregnant either), I bet I’ll LOVE these!

  8. How can anyone hate pickles!!!!??? LOL!!! They are the greatest!!!

    I have had cravings for foods I didn’t like, and then started liking them. It happened with shrimp and olives and oatmeal, and now I love them all (not together though!).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.