Blisters, Chafing and Other Ladylike Things

For the sake of letting the men in my life continue to believe that women do not poop, belch or fart, I’ll happily play along with their belief that we ladies don’t have any questionable bodily functions.

For instance, the burrito salad I had last night didn’t leave me feeling bloated.

burrito salad

Not at all…

Hypothetically, had the burrito left me waddling around with a food baby, it quite possibly would have been worth it for the mounds of guacamole, sour cream and the pillowy pocket of refried beans and Daiya…

002-1

Hypothetically, of course.

While I’d never admit to a burbling belly after a huge dinner, I’m not one to hide the delightful grossness that accompanies a good gym sesh!

003-1

I woke up this morning freakishly excited about foot blisters and chafing that appeared after last night’s successful 2.5 mile run!

Only a runner would be excited about a raw patch of skin on her foot and thigh!

No pain, no gain…right? ;)

Besides, I see them as badges of honor – badges that represent me finally getting off my tush and back into the running game! Running with blisters, chafed patches and shin splints isn’t horrendous…just as long as those are the extent of my running “injuries”

Oh the joys of training!


22 Comments on “Blisters, Chafing and Other Ladylike Things”

  1. Tara says:

    That dinner would be so worth all those not so lady like symptoms, but ya know, that doesn’t happen anyway. I can’t stand blisters!! Black toenails are my badges of honor.

  2. I love this post! That burrito looks sooo good. I’m obsessed with guacamole. And I hear ya on being proud of blisters.. I just started running this summer and whatever blisters I got was worth it (I guess I’m pretty used to them from being a ballet dancer for 18 years but whatever..)

  3. I always feel super proud of scars and blisters too. They make me feel tough. Especially if my knuckles are all red after a boxing class. I feel like a total badass.

  4. This post cracked me up! Of course women don’t have stomach issues… righhhht. Haha. Hope you at least enjoyed That burrito! :)

  5. pbbrittany says:

    hahaha!! You’re so funny! Shhh- men aren’t supposed to know about our bloating, farting, and belching issues :P I always joke with my mom about it “yeah- thats why all the boys are knocking on my door!” haha

  6. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    That’s my kind of “salad”! :P

  7. Haha this made me laugh because you’re right, running brings on all sorts of blisters, chafing & other fun stuff to the mix. Prior to running I was very self conscious about mentioning stuff like that around the men I date but now I’m totally honest about it because hey, we women aren’t perfect — deal with it! haha

  8. caloricandcrazy says:

    but that burrito salad looks so good….maybe it was worth the food baby? haha…
    my friend does cardio barbie whenever she has a food baby :P

  9. Brittney says:

    You and me both! It’s a visual sign that you did good :) I love to wake up sore from a workout as well!

  10. kaliesthoughts says:

    yummmmmy I would love this minus sour cream

  11. Yummm, looks totally worth any unwanted side effects :D I live with three guys, so I completely gave up on pretending girls are even sort of lady-like (or at least this girl).

  12. HAha so many guys SWEAR that girls do not do that. Oh well :) Ahh running injuries. Definitely no pain no gain! I always get blisters.

  13. hahaha I think mexican food is always to blame for my food babies! Such as tonight!

  14. Hahhaa, I just posted about the fact that I’ve been eating 3 BEAN chili for the last 3 days!! My poor boyfriend…LOL!

  15. Looks so yummy! I’ve been craving mexican lately haha :)

  16. Tracy's Treats says:

    Injuries? Welcome to the running club! :-). My badges of honor are black and missing toenails. Yep, that’s toenailS.

  17. owlmazing says:

    I swear, I alwayyyys have blisters on my feet! It is so annoying! Seriously, I have like blisters on top of blisters. Next time you are worried about stomach problems….pass those burritos ova heere!!! I love mexican so so much <3

  18. Cara says:

    I love how you got excited at the sight of blisters and chafing! haha. And anyone who talks about toots, poops and bloats is A-Okay in my book! Love it :)

  19. Haha I am also living in the world of “women don’t do any of the above”. That burrito looks totally worth it though!

  20. Looks like a yummy dinner! Congrats on getting back in the running game :)

  21. Tammy says:

    Hi Faith!

    I work for Kurriosity, a developing lifestyle website. If she would ever be interested in guest blogging for us contact me at TReyes@kurriositycorp.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.