Quicksand’s got no sense of humor but I’m still laughing like hell

I love Shinedown, in all their mangy, grungy, “if only I were an angsty teenager I could run upstairs, slam my door, blast their music and pout that my parents dont love me because they wont extend my curfew” glory. I’m especially a fan of their song “Sound of Madness”, which I think has just about the best lyrics of any of their songs. The chorus always hits me.

“I created the sound of madness, wrote the book on pain, somehow I’m still here to explain….When you gonna wake up and fight for yourself?”

Anytime I feel myself slipping back into bad habits, it reminds me that I am worth fighting for, but the fight is in my hands. It’s not going to be easy and it’s not going to be pleasant, but I’m the only one responsible for me, and I’m the only one who can fight for me and win. Damn it, I’m waking up and fighting.

2 Comments on “Quicksand’s got no sense of humor but I’m still laughing like hell”

  1. Sonia says:

    Thank you so much for your super-sweet comment!! I really appreciate it 🙂

    Keep fighting!

  2. […] made a commitment to move beyond the vicious cycle of an eating […]


Leave a Reply

