Does Gradeeating Mean I’m Shmart Now?

Y’all, guess what! I’m officially an alumni!!! Class of 2010 Baby!!!

That's my name - don't wear it out.

I have two summer classes to take to finish up my degree, but yesterday was a day for celebrating four years worth of ass-busting. I’m so glad to be done! Grad school is a definite, but I just need some time to mentally unwind. I know if I went straight into a Masters program I’d be burnt out faster than my mother’s attempts at pancakes. I’m a complete and total perfectionist, so it would just be more stress than I’m able to take on right now.

Speaking of perfectionist…I graduated Magna Cum Laude! Check out the honors cords:

So I got a text in the middle of the ceremony from my best friend telling me she was so sorry but she didn’t make it – she and her fiance had gotten sick. It stung as I read it. I knew she couldn’t help it, but I deserved to have my best friend there, especially considering we met the very first class on the very first day of freshman year – it would have been so special to see things come full circle. I started thinking about all my other friends, professors, and family who going to get to share that moment with me and I started to lose it.  I kept thinking about the impromptu little celebration my coworkers and students surprised me with yesterday, and I just began bawling. With that, a complete stranger who was sitting in the row behind me tapped me on the shoulder, whispered to me “Honey, congratulations. Everyone is so proud of you.” She gave me as much of a hug as she could from that awkward angle and I realized how lucky and loved I am.

FWIW, I ended up wearing the Burberry.

After the ceremony the family and I headed over to Macaroni Grill. It’s an unspoken rule of sorts: we’re Italian, all celebratory meals are Italian, no exceptions. I TORE through the make-your-own pasta option with the whole wheat penne, house tomato sauce, and ALL the veggie options: spinach, broccoli, fresh garlic cloves, mushrooms, and cherry tomatoes.

Veggietastic.

Later in the evening I headed a town over for fellow grad and blogger Erin’s  grad party at an incredibly chill little outdoors pub. It was absolutely brilliant – vegan cupcakes and epic salads, margaritas and whiskey sours, and dancing.

Perfect ending to an amazing chapter of my life. My body is absolutely craving hydration and nutrition though in a big and may-jah way so I’m off to eat my last ever uni cafeteria meal and move into my townhouse! Life is pretty exciting!

2 Comments on “Does Gradeeating Mean I’m Shmart Now?”

  1. Sonia says:

    Congratulations!!! You must be so excited 🙂 That pasta looks awesome- I love Macaroni Grill…we don’t have one here though. Graduation party sounds like a blast too!

  2. Congratulations! Such an exciting time!!!


Leave a Reply

