Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Even my breakfast was colorful and festive!

Oats with Naturally More peanut butter, dried cranberries, and dried apricots. Those cranberries may very well be one of my favorite oatmeal toppings ever!

Lunch involved a flatout stuffed with wilted spinach, and a sauteed blend of mushroom, garlic, and artichoke hearts. Too perfect for words. Unlike my wrapping skillz, which could use a good deal of work.

After work today I ran for the first time in just over two weeks. I swear, every time I take a one day break, it turns into about ten times as long as I intend it to be. The run was fairly uneventful, although I got side stiches for the first time in just about as long as I can remember. I ran to a new set of downloads – the newish Rise Against CD (musical GENIUS, by the way) – which is extremely up-tempo, so I’m guessing I just ran off too fast to begin with, and without enough potassium in my system. Potassium is one thing that I always struggle in consuming enough of.  Is there a nutrient that you find extremely hard to get enough of?

Post-run, I may or may not have drank my dinner.

Nooooooooooooo, not like that…I meant in the form of my first green monster!!

Is it a Salad? Or is it a Smoothie?

I felt like Shrek with a cup of pond sludge! Sadly enough, it was not fantastic. Two handfuls of spinach, a few strawberries, a banana, almond milk, and a health food store sample of “Green Smoothie Boosting Powder” later…I was not impressed. Actually, it was too tart the first time around, so I added in some apple sauce (random I know), which helped sweeten it up. All in all it was meh, but I’m sure I’ll try another round soon enough and jack with the proportions.

About an hour later I was hungry again, so I spread half a flatout wrap with a bit of Naturally More peanut butter. Let’s talk about this Naturally More for a moment, shall we? I bought it with my own moolah, so this little plug is all my doing. I think it’s a fabulous option as far as nut butters go, but I rarely see it getting any love in the blog world. I’m a fan of the Omega 3’s and the added flax seed and wheat germ. I don’t like the fact that the traditional flavor has egg whites in it (really? egg in peanut butter?), but the organic version is entirely vegan – the ingredient list for the latter is only organic peanuts, organic flaxseed, organic dehydrated cane juice. The original version, for a non-vegan, is pretty delish, however. I like the crunch the flax seeds give it. All in all I think it’s a pretty good choice 🙂

Serving Size:Two Tablespoons Naturally More Original Flavor
Jif Original Creamy
Justin’s Classic Peanut Butter Peanut Butter and Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams
Calories 169 190 190 170
Total Fat 11g 16 g 17g 13g
Total Carbs 8 g 7 g 7 g 12g
Dietary Fiber 4 g 2 g 2 g 2 g
Sugar 2 g 3 g 1 g 7 g
Protein 10 g 7 g 7 g 6 g
One Comment on “Happy Cinco de Mayo!”

  1. Sonia says:

    Aww I’m sad that you didn’t like the green smoothie 😦 I hope you try it again and love it! 🙂
    I am really bad about taking extended breaks from working out in general. I am really GOOD at making excuses…need to stop doing that…
    The PB sounds so good! I’m too poor to buy fancy nut butters and I’m always jealous of all the cool ones out there!


Leave a Reply

