I Like Big Salads and I Cannot Lie …

You other bloggies can’t deny; when a waiter walks in with an itty bitty plate of just lettuce in your face you get starved.

Okay okay, Sir Eats-A-Lot is done now.

But seriously, I’m sorry, but this is not a salad.

Source

This, on the other hand…this is my kind of salad.

Wimpy Wimpy Wimpy? Nooooo, Hefty Hefty Hefty.

Baked Butternut Squash Salad (Single Serving)

  • Two handfuls of fresh baby spinach
  • One quarter of a butternut squash, baked (see below) and cubed
  • Five stalks of asparagus, lightly steamed
  • 1/4 cup sauteed portabello mushrooms
  • Two teaspoons of roasted sunflower seeds
  • Light sprinkling of unsalted peanuts
  • Sizeable dollop of hummus
  • Light drizzle of balsamic vinagrette

About an hour before mealtime, bake one half of a butternut squash. While oven preheats to 350* :

  • Wash squash and slice in half (or buy pre-sliced because these bad boys are tough to cut).
  • Remove seeds/stings from pit in center.
  • Massage about one teaspoon of olive oil over the meaty side, then sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste
  • Place in baking dish or cake pan with about an inch of water
  • Bake until fork-tender and softly browned. This took my squash around 50 minutes in a fairly new oven.

A whole half a squash may seem like a lot, but trust me, you’re going to want a chunk in every bite!

For best results, serve with entertainment magazines on the side.

Not even kidding you, that sucka filled me up for a good five hours. It’s pretty much just been random snackage for the rest of the afternoon and evening: an apple, dried apricots, lemon pepper green beans, a mini blueberry Clif Bar, and a handful of strawberries.

Now baby got [to get] back to work! As of tomorrow, I’m picking up full-time hours in the procurement and contracting department for our grant, and I’m resigned to spend the evening familiarizing myself with some of our online programs. I have a feeling I will also be familiarizing myself with my new coffeemaker as well!

3 Comments on “I Like Big Salads and I Cannot Lie …”

  1. greensandjeans says:

    I have definitely been known to eat a whole butternut squash in one sitting!

  2. Sonia says:

    That salad looks great! I looove salads with lots of fun ingredients. I would never have thought to use a squash in a salad!
    Love the Sir-Eats-A-Lot too!

  3. Danielle says:

    “Hefty, hefty, hefty” <– haha, is it sad I knew that commercial right when I saw those words?

    I totally agree with you on salads! Oh, and when I eat squash fries I def. eat the entire squash. It's not *that* filling 😉


Leave a Reply

