The Meal That Never Ends…And It Goes On And On My Friends…

You guys. My eats yesterday were amazing.

Yes, I said yesterday. Yes, I’m finding it’s much easier with my new schedule to post in the mornings. Yes, I know I just decided to do a regular evening post. Yes, I know I’m a pain in the ass when I change my mind every three seconds. Or maybe I’m not. But then again, it’s fairly likely that I am.

Breakfast was the perfect blend of textures.

Oatmeal, Naturally More peanut butter, Ovaltine, dried cranberries, and sliced almonds.

There’s something about having chewy, crunchy, and creamy all in one bite that just makes me a happy girl. I’m such a huge texture person and I always hated oatmeal and grits as a little girl because they way my mum cooked it, it was just one big pot ‘o mush. No gracias.

Lunch more or less turned into Munch. After a heavy breakfast, I tend to just be more a “grazer” for the rest of the day.

Some days my hair just don't wanna cooperate, okay? Don't judge.

There was a green monster (which I have yet to take a decent picture of…I may just have to accept the fact that pond sludge just ain’t all that photogenic),  a red deeeee-licious apple, granola, and carrots.

And then, dinner…playing off my epic love of all things that can be eaten with a spoon:

The “I’ve Gotta Get Rid of All This Shizz”  Scramble (Vegan).

Yields 6-8 servings if you, like me, are afflicted with eyes-bigger-than-stomach syndrome. Apparently I’m gonna be eating leftovers of this for days. Anyone want to bet how long it is before I’m so sick of it that I kick the next person to say tofu?

Ingredients:


  • One large zucchini (cubed)
  • Two yellow squash (cubed)
  • Two greedy handfuls of fresh spinach
  • One can of corn (drained)
  • 1/2 cup of baby Portabello mushrooms (cut into small pieces)
  • 1/2 cup of carrot shards
  • 2 red potatoes
  • One package (13-15 ounces) extra-firm tofu (crumbled)
  • Three cloves of garlic (chopped)
  • 1/2 onion
  • Olive Oil Cooking Spray
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette – home or premade – to taste

– Cube potatoes, boil in covered pot of water.

– Drain tofu; crumble and lightly sautee’ in olive oil. Add salt, pepper, and small amount of balsamic vinagrette. Stir every 2-3 minutes until nicely browned.

– In one pan, sautee’ garlic, zucchini and yellow squash on medium setting for approx. 6-7 minutes or until tender.

– In the other pan, sautee’ spinach, mushrooms, onion, carrots, and corn for approx 3-4 minutes on high setting or until spinach is lightly wilted and other vegetables are tender.

– Once all ingredients are thoroughly cooked, combine in large bowl or pan. Generously top with salt, pepper, other seasonings of choice, and a drizzle of balsamic vinagrette.

See, I told you, a LOT of food for just one person!

To ensure authenticity, it is vital that in the process of cooking, you squish up the tofu more than necessary just because it’s fun to play with in between your fingers, knock yourself in the head when opening the overhead cabinet, and wield your stirring mechanism of choice with such zeal that you spill at least 10% of the food on the cooktop and floor, wedging at least one large chunk of tofu in the crevice between stove and counter. Failure to follow this will cost your meal at least 10,000 awesome points.


Question: Do you cook like the lovechild of Monk and Monica Gellar, or is your mid-meal kitchen a FEMA zone? Do you clean up after yourself as you go, or do you wait until after the face-stuffing is finished to bust out the soap and sponge?

3 Comments on “The Meal That Never Ends…And It Goes On And On My Friends…”

  1. Sonia says:

    hehe this post is so funny!
    I would never have thought to put Ovaltine in oats- sounds so yummy!
    I’m pretty messy when I cook! And stuff usually doesn’t get cleaned up til the next day…

  2. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, watch south park online

  3. […] Remember my massive tofu scramble? […]


Leave a Reply

