Sunny With a Chance of Yoga

Riddle me this: If all days have 24 hours, how come Saturdays and Sundays whiz by at least twice as quickly as weekdays?

I guess it might have something to do with the fact that instead of busting butt at work, I’m on my way into the GORGEOUS outdoors at Orlando’s Baldwin Park to try my hand (or more appropriately, arms and legs) at yoga.

Source: Reality Cafe Online

After a crazy stressful week, a lazy Sunday at Greenfest 2010 over in Orlando sounds like the golden ticket!

Lululemon is sponsoring two free yoga classes, so I’m ducking over with bonafide yogini Erin to break myself twist into a pretzel.

I have to admit, I’ve never been that drawn to yoga. I’m not a patient person by any stretch of the imagination. I am, however, hoping to improve my flexibility and stretch my muscles out a good bit. (I’m AWFUL at remembering to stretch before I run!)

I think you’d have to be living under a rock not to have heard by now about the general benefits of yoga.  There are quite a few, though, that I’d never have thought of.

  • Boosts immunity. I always joke that because I work with kids, there’s no germ on the planet that I haven’t been exposed to and that I have the immune system of steel. That said, who am I to turn down a little extra? Yoga can possibly jolt your body’s Vitamin C levels, handing over a little extra immunity power, Survivor style.
  • Increased body awareness.  Some days I feel like I’m still in that awkward preteen stage when I’m talking to somebody and have absolutely no idea what to do with my hands so I just tuck them across my chest and lean against the wall. That’s not exactly brilliant body language…Yet, yoga requires “small, subtle movements to improve your alignment”, which, “over time…will increase your level of comfort in your own body.”
  • Less Hostility. Ever seen someone get up from a yoga session and pop someone over the head with their mat? Yeah, me either. “Most yogis report a huge reduction in the amount of hostility they feel as well as a sense of control when anger flares. This calm effect is likely from the relaxation and meditation that is incorporated in their yoga practice that leads to an overall calming of the nervous system.”
  • Lowered risk for Type II diabetes. “In addition to the glucose reducing capabilities of yoga, it is also an excellent source of physical exercise and stress reduction that, along with the potential for yoga to encourage insulin production in the pancreas, can serve as an excellent preventative for type II diabetes.” Having a family history of sugar issues and borderline hypoglycemia myself, this one really stood out at me. Actually, when I first developed a major interest in healthy living, many of the small changes I began making were in the name of reducing sugar in my diet for preventative measures!

There are quite a few health-related issues yoga can help alleviate as well, including carpal tunnel, asthma, arthritis, OCD, allergies, and menopause. Read more about the less obvious yoga benefits here.

Hopefully I manage to hold my own (pun intended). Worst case scenario,  though, I bomb at yoga, but I still get to chill out over in O-Town and peek at the GreenFest exhibits!

From their website: “The goal of Green Fest is to share as many creative solutions to the world’s environmental challenges and introduce healthy food and fashion alternatives. With a spotlight on local artists and live music, we will promote this event as a celebration of knowledge and necessary change.”

Right up my alley! And you know, since I’m driving all the way over there, it would be a complete and total waste not to duck into an outlet or two, just for shits and giggles…no? 😉 We shall see how that plays out!

Hope you have something relaxing planned for the afternoon! In the meantime, what benefits of yoga surprised you the most? Was it something you read about, or something you discovered just by jumping in and letting your body do it’s thang?

2 Comments on “Sunny With a Chance of Yoga”

  1. sonia says:

    I had no idea that yoga could help relieve asthma! I have a friend with asthma and we have been discussing checking out a yoga class at our gym- guess we’ll have to go now!
    I took a beginner’s class at my college for a PE credit and really liked it- I always felt amazing the next day…need to get back into that!


Leave a Reply

