Back to Reality

I hope everyone had a wonderful, safe, relaxing Memorial Day! Better yet if you got to spend some of it outdoors far, far away from the office.

I don’t know about you guys, but I sure needed the extra down time! The gratuitous chance to fire up the grill for some Portabello Burgers was just an added bonus 😉

Barbecue just tastes better on paper plates.

Balsamic-marinated grilled Portabello caps, organic spring mix, and beefsteak tomatoes on a whole-grain bagel.

They're not fried, I swear.

Eggplant scallops, brushed with olive oil and dipped in breadcrumbs/Italian herbs, baked for 15-20 minutes @ 400 degrees.

I had driven over to my grandparent’s house to see my grandpa, incredible World War II Vet that he is, and my grandma had thoughtfully stocked her fridge with lots of veggie-friendly options. I was a bit worried how much I’d be able to eat from their typically meat-heavy fridge, but she’d remembered about my vegetarian requests and was more than accommodating!

She even made a snack basket for me. I swear, I felt like a five year old getting an Easter basket!

I was shocked to find a GNC bag in her fridge, and even more shocked at the contents: spirulina, flax seed oil, and aloe vera juice. Color me impressed! Funny, considering I’d been dabbling in that AloeRed powder. Let’s just say, after tasting this, I think I’ll gladly stick with the powder! My grandpa swears by putting this into his iced tea, and he conned me into taking a shot of it straight – it was sicky sweet going down and had a very strong medicinal aftertaste…more power to him for downing this every day!

Let’s just say almond bear claws are MUCH more my style 😉 When you split it three ways, it disappears pretty quickly though. Who’da thunk it?

Apparently, as my alarm clock so eagerly reminded me, weekends go just as quickly as shared pastries 😦 At least it’s a short week, though, to be immediately followed by our one week office closure, which is then followed by my week up in D.C. for a summer conference session! Putting it that way makes it seem so much more bearable!

2 Comments on “Back to Reality”

  1. Shannon says:

    it’s always nice to have the extra time, but bittersweet to get back to work. looks like you had a great one, though!!

  2. greensandjeans says:

    I’m glad you had such a great holiday weekend!


Leave a Reply

