Pure Torture.

You’re a shoe-in. She even opened the interview by commenting on how impressive your cover letter and resumer were.

Oh shit. Coworker such-and-such applied for this job and got turned down three times? She’s been with the company and working through these duties for four years longer than I have. If she can’t get it, I don’t have a chance in hell. 

Wait. If they haven’t hired her after three rounds, there has to be a reason. Even though she’s serving interrim duties during the hiring process, maybe it isn’t a given that she’s going to be asked to continue. Highly likely, but not a given.

Call the best friend on lunchbreak to rehash interview. She sounds so confident that I’ll get it. Does she really mean it or is it requisite supportiveness?

You really had a great rapport with the interviewer. It was DEFINITELY a good thing that she told you that you reminded her of herself.

Then you blew any ground you made when you couldn’t think of an answer so you just started talking…circling the airport…land the damn plane kid, make a point…

Woman, you’ve got everything they’re looking for in this position.

“You did really well, Faith. I could tell you were a bit nervous”. Of course she sent me off with a half-compliment. Wonder what tipped her off to my nerves – the Gulf of Mexico – sized lakes under my armpits, or the million-words-a-minute rate of speech?

I really wish I could shut my brain up. Don’t you just love post-interview stress? Over the course of the last two hours I’ve gone ’round and ’round about do I/don’t I have it in the bag. They hope to have a decision made in the next two weeks, and I can safely say that these are going to be the most stressful two weeks of my life. I just have to let it go and let it unfold…

7 Comments on “Pure Torture.”

  1. Susan says:

    I’ve sent out at least 20 resumes in the past few weeks and at this point am happy to even get a letter saying the position has been filled. I’ve only gotten one call back, and have yet to have a real interview. Even if you don’t get the job, just showing up and talking to the people is a HUGE step, and shows that they definitely already like you 🙂

    • Faith says:

      Thank you so much for the vote of confidence – that’s definitely assuring 🙂 Hang in there – an interview will come along with the right company at the right time, and you’ll rock it. (This seems so natural to say, and I genuinely mean it, but why is it so hard to listen to my own advice? Haha)

  2. Don’t stress, you’ve got this. 🙂

  3. greensandjeans says:

    Interviewing is so nerve wracking, but I agree with Susan, getting an interview is half the battle! Even though you were nervous your resume speaks volumes and I’m sure you’ll be getting good news!

  4. I hope you get the job!! I know how stressful this can be, but just try to think you did the very best possible and it’s out of your hands now! I’m sure you did great!

  5. sonia says:

    sooo suspenseful! I was so nervous after I sent out my grad school applications- especially since before I got any acceptance letters, I got 3 rejections!
    But- you did get an interview, and that’s great- especially since it went well!
    You can do it!! From what (little) I know of you… you sound like a great person who is smart with a great sense of humor…you’re a shoo in!

  6. […] or so later, I walked out feeling like I’d NAILED the interview (a far different cry from this fiasco a few months ago). Four hours later, I check my phone to see a voicemail, and I duck into the […]


Leave a Reply

