Smoothie Fail, Solo Win

Somewhere in the middle of the day, I started entertaining the idea of stopping in our little neighborhood sports grille for $1 ‘rita Thursdays. As outgoing and social as I am, I need a lot of “me” time. I love shopping alone, I love going to movies alone, but I have always HATED going out to eat or drink alone. As I debated stopping in, I found out that a tornado had touched down a few minutes from my house and that all power was out and could be so for the next 18-48 hours. 

With absolutely no desire to go running and get swept off to Kansas (although I could rock out those ruby slippers), I decided to step out of my comfort zone after all. Let’s just say that $5 later, it was a brilliant decision 😉 With such a cheap tab, there was no room to complain!  There was absolutely no awkwardness at all – the atmosphere was incredibly chill and there was a great energy between the “regulars”, who were incredibly friendly right off the bat. I ended up sharing a basket of what might have been world’s best fries somewhere after my priority for healthy eating went out the window… At least I didn’t order the chicken tenders that I never fail to crave after a night out! I’m going to have to vegetarianize that… 

This morning I needed some help to become a fully functioning human being again, so I whipped up the final green monster and went heavy on the spinach. The addition of Barlean’s Greens killed it, but not in a good way. The ingredients seemed so promising: Organic Barley leaf, Oat leaf and Wheat leaf combined with Barley Juice, Wheat Juice and Oat Juice Powders, Organic Spirulina, Organic Flaxmeal, RiceXBran, Chlorella, Spinach, Natural Flavor, Astragalus, Schizandra, Green Tea Extract, Acerola Cherry Extract, Parsley, Sea Vegetables, Rosemary Powder, Stevia, Cranberry Juice Powder, Blueberry Juice Powder, Strawberry Juice Powder, Curcumin Extract, Full Spectrum Digestive Enzymes. 

  

All I could taste was the fake berry flavor that reminded me far too much of children’s chewable vitamins. While it had no smell at all and blended in very smoothly, I couldn’t get past the overwhelming chalky berryness. Halfway through the sludge, I called it quits and guzzled a tall glass of water instead – partially to hydrate, partially to get the taste out of my mouth. 

With the Field of Greens being my favorite but out of my price range, I think I’ll be sticking to my powderless versions of smoothies. On a similar vein, if you have a penchant for protein powders, you may want to check out this article on toxic elements in the formulas. I take things like this with a grain of salt, but I’d rather know all the information involved! 

As I was getting dressed, my body started demanding eggs. Not asking, not craving, demanding. Not wanting to further piss it off, I complied 😉 

 

 

Through sheer laziness, I may have discovered the secret to making perfectly fluffy eggs. As I stood at the stove, pan in hand, I realized the butter was back in the fridge, and I  was a good ten steps away. With my olive oil spray within arm’s reach, I coated the pan with that instead, and the eggs were sheer perfection. Total happiness right there. What do you crave after a night out? Also, what’s the weirdest cooking substitution you’ve ever made?

5 Comments on “Smoothie Fail, Solo Win”

  1. Priyanka says:

    I crave eggs and potatoes at odd times during the day. I can’t remember any weird substitution I have made (cuz i have clearly made so many), but most of the times they end in disasters 🙂

  2. After I night out I’m usually having very weird cravings, odd combos and such but usually stick to pizza and lots of side dishes created by me 🙂

  3. Terence K. says:

    Hi Faith,

    Terernce from Barleans here…I just wanted to chime in with a suggestion. As a recent “greens convert” I wanted to let you know that I’ve tried many things to make Barlean’s Berry Greens healthy AND tasty. Have you tried it with any juices? I really enjoy it with natural cherry or grape juice. I’m not a fan of it with orange juice or in pure green smoothies. We use berry extracts in this formula, so be assured that this is a natural product with truly natural flavors. I hope this helps a little bit. If you have any further questions or comments, feel free to contact me via orders@barleans.com (attn: Terence). Best of health!

    • Faith says:

      Hi Terence! Thank you so much for the tips. I think I may pick up one more of the samples next time I visit the shop and try it in a juice like you suggested! I think the berry flavor might be brought out better in a grape juice like you mentioned.

  4. sonia says:

    I have egg cravings every so often too! I heart breakfast burritos after a night out… also, pizza… sigh


Leave a Reply

