Dressing (for) Success

Hello my loves!

I can tell already that this workless week is going to be JUST what the doctor ordered. My body woke itself up as early as ever, though and since I couldn’t go back to sleep, I chugged a green monster and went for a run.

After a good three miles, the natural foods store was calling my name, where I wandered around for easily a half hour. I think three different sales associates must have come up to me and asked if I needed help finding something. No, thank you, ignore the sweaty woman drooling on your tile, I’m just chilling out in your air conditioned mecca of wonderful wonderfulness, but I’ll let you know if I need anything…

You know you’re a foodie when grocery shopping is something you look forward to instead of a dreaded chore! Dishes, on the other hand…that needed an incentive, which came in the form of kitchen playtime that brought about:

“Greedy Seedy” Easy Avocado Dressing

  • 1/2 ripe Haas avocado
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (1/2 cup if you prefer a thinner dressing)
  • 2 tablespoons roasted sesame seeds
  • 1.5 tsp minced garlic
  • 1.5 tsp juice from a jar of garlic
  • 1 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Stick it all in a food processor and blend that sucka till it’s smooth.

A highball glass seemed like a perfectly logical vessel for a serving of dressing...

It was the perfect light, summery dressing for a crisp lunch salad. Two parts creamy, one part tangy, 100% delicious. Hearty enough from the fats in the ‘cado and seeds to give a basic salad a satisfying finish.

Over a massive bowl of organic spring greens mix, organic alfalfa sprouts, and half a beefsteak tomato with the seeds removed. (weird fact: I absolutely can’t stand the seeds and that runny goo inside of tomatoes. I always scoop it out before prepping a tomato for any recipe.)

First-time dressing-making success? I think so, I think so indeed.

I’ve got exciting things planned for dinner, so pop on back tonight; I think a triple-post Saturday is in store!

2 Comments on “Dressing (for) Success”

  1. Kirsten says:

    That is an awesome dressing! I am going to have to try it out!

  2. sonia says:

    that looks soooo good. Curses to my avocado allergy!


Leave a Reply

