Forget Singing, I Want to Run in the Rain.

Oh, Florida, your schizophrenic weather never fails. Four o’clock rolled around, bringing with it a downpour that made me want to go out and play in it like a five year old.

So I did. On went the sneakers, and just for shits and giggles, I sprinted around my block (a whopping quarter mile, if that). By the time I got back in just a few minutes later, I was SOAKED. It was glorious. So worth the walking double pneumonia I may or may not develop as a result.

Nutritionally conscious athlete that I am, I felt compelled to refuel after that intense effort 😉

For the record, I love these plates more than life itself and I plan on using them until you’re so sick of seeing them that you want to break them.

In sharp contrast to the gray sky, dinner was a colorful adaptation of another adaption. I came across it here on Ciao Chow Linda, who originally pulled it from Wolfgang Puck’s “Modern French Cooking for the American Kitchen”. Since I had no plans at all to make that huge of a loaf (all the recipes I feature here are all one, maybe two servings), I did some serious portion-cutting.

Cheesy Carrot and Spinach Bake (vegetarian)

  • 1 cup carrots
  • 2-3 large handfuls spinach
  • 2 eggs
  • 2-3 ounces (approx 2 deli slices) swiss cheese
  • olive oil cooking spray
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper
  1. Sautee’ carrots and spinach in separate pans.

How'd those sneaky stray carrots get in with the greens?

2. Grate or chop cheese into very small pieces.

Boar's Head Baby Swiss. Almost provolone-esque, yet stronger and with more bite.

3. Break eggs and mix yolks with whites; stir in cheese

Dairylicious.

4. Portion 2/3 of the egg/cheese mixture into a bowl with the carrots; portion the             remaining 1/3 into a bowl with the spinach. Mix thoroughly.

5. Pour half the carrot mixture into a lightly buttered ramekin. Then layer in the entire bowl of spinach mixture, followed by the rest of the carrots.

6.) Bake on 375* for 25-30 minutes or until knife inserted into center comes out clean.

Excruciatingly Unphotogenic Ooey Gooey Goodness

I think next time, I’m going to halve the dairy and go with 1 slice of swiss and 1 egg and double the vegetable portions. As fab as this was, I was definitely more in the market for a veggie-heavy dish like Linda’s.  I like a little cheese here and there, but definitely not this much. All things considered, though, I definitely liked this bad boy, melty overload and all.

I’m definitely ready for some coffee and a stupid chick flick to end my Saturday. Anyone have big things going down for the rest of your weekends? Or, more importantly, does anyone else love to run in the pouring rain?

6 Comments on “Forget Singing, I Want to Run in the Rain.”

  1. i love running in the rain too! makes me feel hardddd core! and it’s just fun!

    that carrot and spinach bake looks great!

  2. Yumm, watermelon! Perfect post-run fuel. That bake reminds me of something similar I make with tofu, I’ve never thought to add carrots though! Hope you’re having a great weekend girl!

  3. Hey there Faith! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I love yours, especially the about page; you write beautifully! I once ran through the rain with a couple friends of mine at school and fell flat on my face when I realised that the curb also happened to feature a bench. Not very smart. 😛

    Carrot and spinach bake looks damn. amazing. I don’t care what people say about ugly food; mention cheese, carrots and spinach and I’m in, baby! XD

    Wei-Wei

    • Faith says:

      Thank you so much for the sweet words! The bench trip sounds totally like something I would do. Grace and coordination is overrated 😉

  4. saltytooth says:

    I love running in the rain, but it depends how many miles I’m planning to run. I ended up running an 18-mile training run in the rain last year and by mile 13 I wanted to die.

    Also, your carrot and spinach bake to amazing!


Leave a Reply

