Mission Possible

Angela’s covert mission seemed like such a fun idea that I pulled a double-oh Faith-o during my run.

After settling into a rhythm, I set my sights on an unsuspecting runner armed and dangerous spy, and I made it my mission to stay on his trail. Although he was a good bit faster that I was, I managed not to let him out of my sight for the duration of the run. M would have been proud!

In the interest of maximum rejuvination, I declared the afternoon a throwback Sunday. Since I was seven years old, I spent my Sunday afternoons from August to February watching the NFL with my grandpa. I’ve always been a grandpa’s girl, and ten hours of quarterback-sacking, blitz-calling football was Our Thing. He definitely gets all the credit for my borderline obsession with game 😉 During the games, my grandmother – a truly amazing cook – would always serve up an Italian lunch. I’ve been known to drive home during football season for her food and an afternoon on the sofas talkin’ smack with my grandpa!

I thusly declared today a football-and-Italian-food day, and on my way home from my run, I picked up Friday Night Lights to curl up with this evening. It won’t compare to a real game, but I’ll take what I can get in this miserable off-season!

I set about making a from-scratch tomato sauce for the vegan Soy-Boy ravioli I picked up yesterday. I’m firmly convinced that canned sauce has NOTHIN’ on homemade. The stars of the show were two GINORMOUS Florida-grown tomatoes.

So fresh, so summery. And did I mention HUGE?

I made them into a simple Spiffy Sweet Tomato Sauce by stewing them for an hour along with:

  • 1/3 a Vidalia onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons Kalamata Olive Brine
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Oregano
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons Agave nectar
  • 1 teaspoon all-purpose Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon EVOO
  • 2 teaspoons (give or take) sea salt

Drain them VERY well while your pasta cooks (my ravioli took seven minutes). Throw it into a food processor until you reach your desired level of smoothness (I like my sauce with a little chunk to it).

This kicked ass on top of the SoyBoy ravioli.

I think I could have drained the noodles a little more, but I was HANGRY and licking the sauce off the spoon, the processor lid…in the interest of having some for my actual dinner, I did what I had to do and cut a few corners…

With a filling made out of organic, non-GMO tofu, the ravioli was a little on the bland side, but I like to think my sauce more than made up for it 😀

The texture of the filling was very similar to a crumbly ricotta (albeit a bit more pebbly). You could definitely tell it wasn’t cheese, but for a vegan option, it was definitely par for the course.

I’m lovin’ the ingredient list and the stats too (especially as it compares to regular dairy ravioli!!!) In the name of the stats alone, I’d be willing to purchase it again as a substitution for standard ravioli.

Now that my belly is extremely full and extremely happy, I’m off to pop in Friday Night Lights and veg out! Happy end ‘o the weekend to ya!

What’s your favorite tradition from childhood? Do you still keep at it now?

6 Comments on “Mission Possible”

  1. haha oh my gosh I laughed about your covert op run!!! LOVE it. 🙂 It helps doesn’t it?

    Your tomato sauce looks amazing!

  2. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    I want SOY BOY in my grocery! It reminds me of the big boy from austin powers which is tacky I know but that’s what popped in my head

  3. Priyanka says:

    I love your tomato sauce recipe. My Mum always makes tomato sauce from scratch,I still have to get into that groove. This recipe is definitely a motivation.

  4. Diana says:

    Oh my, your sauce looks delicious! I am loving your blog btw! I’ll definitely be tuning in for future posts! 🙂

  5. Those soy boys look awesome! I think my favorite childhood tradition was making pancake with my mom on the weekends. Now I make them most days of the week! lol


Leave a Reply

