Have I mentioned that I love surprises?

Wahoo! Yesterday, the postman, who I’m now so fond of I could marry, delivered an unexpected check from some extra work I’d put in some time ago!

For a whole thirty seconds, I entertained the whole responsible “put it into savings” concept, but I bought a certain something that starts with Nikon and ends with P90 🙂

Sourced from Digital Camera Club

I know I just replaced my broken camera, but I honestly haven’t been very happy with the one I just bought. I’m assuming it’s because I’m pretty cheap with my electronics, and the quality kind of shows. Since I’m still not quite willing/able to drop $800+ on a DSLR, I did some research and felt like this bad boy could come close – for a Point-and-Shoot. Fingers crossed that it helps improve the blog!

Do you have any experience with Nikon P+S’es? Good, bad, happy, sad?

Or: If you got a surprise check and could buy any gadget right now, what would it be?

I spent the afternoon gym shopping. I probably won’t be joining one until August, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to get an eye out now.

It seems that I’ll be looking at $40 a month regardless of which one I choose. I keep wavering back and forth between feeling like it’s worth it and feeling like it’s a waste. Running the lake is free (and gorgeous!), but it’s absolutely sweltering, and I’ve got no strength training options at my home.

Gold’s offers several classes, but the only ones that would mesh with my work schedule would be at 5 AM or weekends!

I keep wavering back and forth! Do you think gym memberships are worth it?

I know I’d appreciate the extra security factor, the air conditioning (!!!!), the strength training options, and the occasional classes, but would it be worth almost $500 a year? When I look at it that way, it seems so wasteful!

Popping in and watching everyone else sweat was excruciating. So much so that on coming home, I needed some refreshment in the form of yet another (oddly textured) fruit smoothie:

Watermelon chunks, an extremely ripe pear, POM Pomegranate Lychee Green Tea, two scoops of AloeRed, ice.

Thank you for all your smoothie ideas! I can’t believe I *still* haven’t tried the chocolate cherry bomb, given my love of chocolate + fruit combos!

Just think: the weekend is just one and a half more days away! Catch ya soon 🙂

15 Comments on “Have I mentioned that I love surprises?”

  1. Lindsay says:

    Good luck with the new camera! It looks great! I would love a DSLR too…but the old pocketbook just isn’t having it. Maybe one of these days….

  2. So jealous! That’s definitely what I would purchase with a surprise check. I am still working with an old-school digital…so not ok. As far as gym memberships, for me they’re worth it if you take the group classes – but I haven’t been in forever, as I’m newly addicted to workout DVDs in my home! xxSAS

  3. I just bought a Nikon too. Hope you love it!!

  4. Kelsey says:

    I HAVE A NIKON TOO! seems like its welled loved among bloggers hehe ❤

  5. Yay for surprise checks! 😀

    Hmm.. I would most probably spend it on a flight ticket or also buy a new camera – mine is noooooot very good.

    I’ve never had a gym membership because I hate it when you have to commit yourself to the ONE place for a year and pay monthly payments even though you don’t even go there and it’s SO expensive here too 😦

  6. I would love a new camera! Mine is very sub-par these days.

    I think a gym membership is absolutely worth it- a great place to go in bad weather, and even an escape for alone time- at least for me!
    I love your smoothie- never thought of adding watermelon. Yum!

  7. Surprise check!!! Amazing. If I had that… I would love a new camera (I have a got a few years old point and shoot that has been around the block… well, the WORLD…. and is a little worse for the wear, and only has a 3x zoom) but I would also love a Garmin. I am hoping to train for my first marathon next year and that would be really useful, they are just SO expensive!

  8. Helen says:

    What a brilliant surprise! I think i so would have got a new camera if mine was on it’s last legs!
    Re the gym thing, I’ve noticed that I don’t go as much in the summer as I can run outside but it is always good to have a membership if it is bad weather or if I want to fo weights. I love your idea of gym shopping, it’s a great way to find the best gym for you.

  9. Hey girl! I would definitely suggest joining the gym, even though it may seem kind of pricey. I really enjoy my gym, and not even because of the classes – because of the strength training options it provides, as well as relief from the elements outside! I probably use my gym four times a week on average, opting to run or walk outside when it’s not too hot/humid/rainy/stormy (I live in TN)… So, all that to say – I looove having the gym available to me and you should go for it!

  10. Gorgeous camera!

    If I got a surprise check, I would definitely purchase a Garmin.

  11. greensandjeans says:

    Yay for the new camera! I love my little point and shoot, but I’d definitely be down for something a little fancier!

  12. I think the $40 I spend on a gym membership is well worth it. Don’t know about Gold’s, but the L.A. Fitness that I go to has 3 different locations nearby. When I get bored of the same faces/equipment/instructors I go to one of the other locations for a change. That alone makes it worth my money. The A/C is nice too! 🙂

  13. Brittany says:

    Going to Sabra SAP! umm first of all, that smoothie looks SO good. I’ve never thought of making a smoothie with my fav fruit, Watermelon. Second, I DO think gym memberships are worth it however, as of late i’m have a VERY hard time going. Prior to that though i’ve used to lots the last 2 years. Plus for some reason working out at home just never feels as great as the gym does! Maybe it’s because I work out harder since I have an audience?! 😉 haha Have a great day love!!

  14. Yay for the camera! My point and shoot is jealous. 🙂

    I love my gym. That is my time. I love the classes I go to. I love the programs they sponsor. It is definitely worth the money for me.

  15. […] been playing around with my new Nikon ever since it arrived. It’s love. […]


Leave a Reply

