Avocado White Bean Burritos

So apparently when I said I wasn’t making guacamole, what I meant was I’m making something that’s essentially guacamole sans chiles, mushing it with beans, and calling it a burrito filling.

Apparently, I also can’t read recipes. I thought this involved slicing avocados and layering them inside the burrito. I can’t see why that wouldn’t work, but I decided to go ahead and stick with the original idea.

Adapted from the Student’s Go Vegan Cookbook:

  • 1 ripe Haas avocado
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup white or navy beans (side note: who the hell named cream-colored beans after a shade of blue?)
  • approx 1/5 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste

I used dried Navy Beans, which – despite soaking for 7 hours – were still too dry for my liking. I dropped them into the food processor with a little almond milk to puree them a bit better, but I’d definitely recommend going with canned here.

Mash all the filling ingredients into a creamy mixture of desired texture. Smoosh into skillet-warmed tortilla (I used a whole wheat flat-out wrap) and wrap to the best of your abilities.

You best believe I smothered that sucker in Publix’s hot organic/natural salsa, and I can imagine that they would be incredible with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt as a pseudo-sour cream.

Ole!


Have a fantastic weekend chicas!

7 Comments on “Avocado White Bean Burritos”

  1. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    This mixes everything I love into one recipe! plus the weekend is here; it couldn’t get better! Have a good one!
    Katherine

  2. Danielle says:

    LOL on the Navy Beans comment. I was just thinking the same thing today with eggplants…does that *sound* appetizing?!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Yum! This looks easy and delicious. I have a can of white beans just waiting to be used up, and this looks like the perfect recipe for the task. 🙂

  4. Umm yum!? I love mexican food, I love salsa and I loveee avocados – so thanks for making this recipe for me! (:

  5. Hmmmmm this sounds so delicious to me!!! And good call about the navy bean thing!

  6. oh wow – how inventive! i haven’t tried white beans in Mexican recipes, seems i’ve been missing out!


Leave a Reply

