Barley-Lentil Stuffed Baked Tomatoes

Happy Monday everyone!

I definitely have been stuffing my face all weekend:

After chocolate chunks kept getting stuck in my straw, I ad-libbed my first smoothie-in-a-bowl.

Sweet potato fries were on the agenda as well:

I couldn’t decide whether I wanted a savory sauce or a sweet one, so I mixed together honey mustard, Naturally More PB, and a splash of almond milk for a bit of both. I feel like that could have been the best (and debatably the weirdest) decision I’ve ever made.

Doesn’t the fry look like a little shark swimming in a sea of sauce? 😉

In the process of stuffing my face, I decided to stuff a tomato as well.

I hate stuffed peppers and stuffed mushrooms (it’s a texture thing), but I’ve been dying to jump on the stuffed-veggie bandwagon. They look so much more impressive than they really are!

This was a big ol’ plate of goodness. There were so many textures going on – the warm, slightly tender tomato, the chewy grains and soft lentils, the crisp fresh raw organic spinach, and a few roasted sunflower seeds for crunch.

It was so flavorful too! I’ve been on a huge citrus kick – I feel like it makes everything extra light and fresh. The fresh lemon juice definitely kicked it up a notch 😉

Barley-Lentil Stuffed Baked Tomato (vegan; makes two)

For the stuffing:

  • 1/3 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1/4 cup (dry) pearled barley
  • 1/4 cup (dry) lentils
  • 2 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon vegan butter – I used Smart Balance Light
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook lentils according to directions on package. In another pot, cook the barley with all other ingredients (other than the butter). Combine cooked lentils and barley with the butter in one large dish.

Cut the top off your tomatoes and using a spoon, hollow out the center.

You might want to flip the tomato upside-down and let it drain for a minute or so, because leftover seed goo always seems to manage to puddle around the bottom, even after you think it’s all gone.

Fill the hollowed tomatoes with your lentil barley mixture, place on a tin-foiled baking sheet, and pop into a 375* oven for 25-30 minutes. When the tomato skin is puckered and wrinkly and the top is beginning to brown, that sucker’s done.

Served up on a bed of fresh spinach, sprinkled with sunflower seeds and a squeeze of fresh lemon…definitely the star meal of the weekend!

What was your favorite dish from the weekend?

9 Comments on “Barley-Lentil Stuffed Baked Tomatoes”

  1. Lindsay says:

    My fav dish this weekend was a breakfast parfait made of vegan overnight oats and banana soft serve that I devoured following my long run on Saturday. It was the stuff dreams are made of….also, that fry does look like a shark fin! Lol. Good call.

  2. um…. yeah, i want all your food.
    my favorite eats this weekend? probably the epic spaghetti 😀

  3. Oh my…the stuffed tomato looks fantastic!!!

  4. I love stuffed veggies, especially if they are stuffed with cheese 😉

  5. Ooooooh! Your stuffed tomato looks so cute! I like peppers, so I may try making this using a few tomatoes and a few red peppers.

    My favorite meal from this weekend was the turkey burger I had last night. Paired with Parmesan baked fries and veggies. Yum!

  6. why do i never stuff things with lentils? that’s a brilliant idea.

  7. Kristie says:

    Umm I’d definitely be all over that honey mustard/pb sauce combo. That’s genius! Two amazing condiments paired together… how can you go wrong? Especially when they’re used for sweet potato fries. Pretty much pure perfection right there. Though that baked tomato rivals it. I’ve done the stuffed pepper thing but never a stuffed tomato… that would be SO good.

  8. Carbzilla says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am BEYOND honored to be on your blogroll. Your food is as gorgeous as you are! Thanks for sharing your story!

  9. Whoa! This looks so wonderful! I wish I had barely and lentils.. and an un-cut tomato. Darn. I’ll have to stock up and make these. 🙂


Leave a Reply

