Playing with Fire

Bad things to burn: Toast. Cookies (truly tragic!). Fingertips. Bridges.

Good things to burn: Calories. Sparklers. The top of creme brulee.

Amazing things to burn: Handcrafted, hypoallergenic soy candles a la’ Soy Candles By Phebes.

I was lucky enough to win a giveaway over at Bites and Pieces. The incredibly friendly and patient owner Mike included a second scent to review on my blog, and I totally lucked out there. I had been torn on which scent to try choose! I always lean towards fruity scents; both of these hit the fresh, light, and juicy nail on the head. Besides – there’s just something about that saucy photo on the Eat it Raw package that had my name written all over it!

The Blackberry Cassis scent immediately reminded me of the Black Raspberry Vanilla perfume from Bath and Body Works, except with an intriguing added currant note! The Eat it Raw is incredibly unique and I’m already crazy about the sweet tropicalness that manages to mix melons and berries without being cloying.

After stuffing my nose into the jars immediately after opening the package, I popped the Blackberry Cassis on my candle warmer. (Quirky side note: I’m always skittish to use matches. Since I was a little girl, I was worried that I’d strike the match the wrong way and that the flame would jump back and burn me. Ironic, seeing as I know how to put a match out with my mouth.)

I was curious to see what kind of lasting power these candles would have. Trust me when I say that I’ve smelled my share of weak candles – being a teacher, every time Christmas rolls around, I’m presented with enough dollar tree votives to hold a vigil. I was impressed by these candles’ ability to fill my bedroom with fragrance, and fairly quickly, too. I’ve had the EiR burning nonstop since yesterday afternoon, and it’s still going strong.

Also, because the little things make me happy, I was excited to notice that the jars weren’t plastered with a logo or a sticker. The clear, classic jars each pack 8.5 ounces of vegan, kosher, and chemical-free uncolored soy wax. Talk about eco-friendly!

And now, without further ado, time to tell ya how to win one for yourself!

  • Pop over to the Soy Candles by Phebes Website; try not to drool on laptop when you look over all the amazing scents Mike offers for sale; come back here and tell us which one you’d be interested in trying.
  • Link back to this giveaway on your blog (if you have one)
  • Add Lovely as Charged to your blogroll and comment to let me know it’s up!

Next Sunday I’ll use a random number generator to pick a winner. Good luck, and HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY!!! Be safe!

21 Comments on “Playing with Fire”

  1. It was hard to choose, but I would try Bedtime Melody!

  2. I like fruit/candy scents so I was intrigued by the Cucumber Melon scent. And just because it looks cute, I would also try Puppy Breath. šŸ™‚

  3. I also added you to my blogroll. šŸ™‚

  4. I LOVE candles!
    I bet Phebes’ Summer Breeze is an amazing scent!!
    Swing by my blog to check out my giveaway as well šŸ™‚

  5. I actually like it when I “accidentally” burn cookies in the oven. Love them nice and crispy. These candles look awesome, btw!

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    I love soy candles! you can use them as lotion too!

  7. oh burning cookies is oh SO tragic šŸ˜¦ and sweet taters too šŸ˜¦ lol

  8. Country clothesline sounds lovely . . . wait can a candle sound lovely, cause scents don’t make noise?!?!

  9. candles make me happy šŸ™‚ Those look awesome! Hope you had a great 4th!!

  10. You know I have never had a soy candle before?! Am I missing out or what??

    Coco-loco!!! Mmmmm

    xxoo

  11. Natalie says:

    hey girl! thanks for commenting on my blog =) im loving yours! i also… have an unhealthy obsession for candles… so i LOVE this giveaway. i would love to try the SUMMER FIELDS scent, so i could make my room smell like summer all year around!! so awesome =)

  12. Erica says:

    I’ve seen these candles- they are so beautiful! I’d most like to try Moonlight Oasis. What a fun giveaway. Hope your Monday is treating you well!!

  13. Sweet Cotton…Fantastic! I’ve added you to my blogroll and I’ll be telling people today about your giveaway!

  14. Haha what a cute way to start a post :).
    You don’t need to enter me; I just wanted to stop by and say hi!

  15. Katharina says:

    Helloo m’lady! Those candles sound so delicious and I can only imagine what inspired all of these scents. I just imagine someone well-traveled and really in tune with their surroundings šŸ˜€ The most appealing to me is the Bergamot Tarragon. I LOVE tarragon and the subtle sweetness it lends in cooking. I think it’s often forgotten, but I definitely remember it šŸ™‚

    XOXO

    p.s. yes those shorts are from J. Crew šŸ˜€ ON SALE!!! I was lucky to get the last one in my size. And thanks for dropping by and saying hello!! And I loved your answer to the style question. I think I’m the same way. The city where I go to school I see a lot of young women not embracing their femininity. It doesn’t mean you have to be a total girly-girl.. but I don’t know.. to each his own I guess, right?

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

    • Faith says:

      In the town where I went to my community college, it was considered “dressed up” if you were out of your pajama pants. I absolutely LOVE dressing femininely – I believe in the instant confidence-boosting power of a pair of heels šŸ™‚

  16. The absinthe sounds fun – I actually tried some in New Orleans this year. Wonder how the candle compares LOL!

  17. […] of giveaways…you’ve got a day and a half left to enter my Soy Candles by Phebes drawing! I’m still in love with the candles they sent me to try – don’t miss your shot to […]

  18. Charlotte says:

    I didn’t know that candles are at vegan risk – thanks for the info.

    I just added you to my blogroll and am so glad that I did!


Leave a Reply

