Curry Up and Eat!

I think, should a brilliant career in magazine editing never materialize, I could be a doctor. I have hereby diagnosed myself with “eyesbiggerthanstomachitis”.

Symptoms include routinely overstuffing shopping carts, assembling mile-high plates when at a buffet, and preparing dinners that could easily serve ten when in reality, only one will be dining.

Remember my massive tofu scramble?

Last night yielded similar amounts of food. I now have two Tupperware containers of leftover Vegan Indian Curry taking residence in my fridge.

There’s no arguing that one-dish dinners are the best, both for popping into lunches and for simply heat up after a long day at work. I suppose I don’t mind having massive quantities of leftovers after all 😉

Has anyone noticed, by the way, how hard it is to find a vegan/vegetarian pre-made curry sauce at the grocery store? For once in my life, Publix failed me. All their options included fish oil :/ Chamberlin’s Natural Foods saved the day, though, with Good Korma Simmer Sauce.

That’s more like it! And on sale for $2.20 each…it was fate. I had to buy them.

Another symptom of my ailment involves an inability to keep from taking little bites of food while cooking. I hear, though, that this has been reported to occur in otherwise unaffected hungry foodies.

In the interest of not forcing you to feed your families four days worth of the dish, I halved the proportions of what I used for a slightly more reasonable serving!

Easy Vegan “Good Korma” Curry (4-5 servings)

  • 2 large red baking potatoes
  • 1/2 large eggplant
  • 1/2 cup dried red lentils
  • 1/3 sweet Vidalia onion
  • 1/2 head cauliflower
  • 1 pouch Good Korma Simmer Sauce (although, if you prefer a saucier curry or plan to serve it over rice, you may want to use two pouches in your version as well)
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dash of olive oil
  • fresh ground black pepper (optional/to taste)

– In covered pot, boil potatoes (cubed) and onion (sliced and de-layered) until tender.

– In another pot, cook lentils according to package directions. For the record, lentils don’t require pre-soaking, so this should take at most between 20-25 minutes of covered cooking.

– In yet another pot, steam cauliflower. Once cauliflower is cooked, mash with a potato masher until small pieces form.

– In a lightly olive-oiled pan, sautee cubed eggplant until the purple skin becomes slightly puckered and the white flesh turns toasty brown.

– Allow potatoes and onions to simmer for ten minutes with one pouch of sauce in one pan, while the cauliflower, eggplant, and lentils simmer in another pouch simultaneously.

– Combine curried veggies in one large bowl and add curry powder, garlic salt, cinnamon, and pepper.

It was spicy, but not obscenely so.

I was planning on putting peanuts on top, but my best friend called to suggest meeting up for dinner and I got sidetracked! I’m sure the added crunch of cashews or peanuts would be awesome though!

I washed it down with a tall glass of iced Wild Sweet Orange Tazo tea that I generously drizzled with agave nectar. I’ve been craving iced tea like crazy lately! The sweetness of this was the perfect counterpart to the zippy curry.

See you ladies later! I’m so psyched to head into Tampa for dinner with the bestie tonight that I don’t even care where she picked to go! We’ve been known to try some pretty oddball places (Weinerschnitzel Hut, anyone? Totally her call, for the record)…so I’m curious to see where we end up!

9 Comments on “Curry Up and Eat!”

  1. Becky says:

    Dinner looks great…it’ll probably be great as leftovers, too! Glad you’re going to fit in some girl time – it’s the best – have fun!

  2. Lindsay says:

    I love Indian food. Looks delish!

  3. […] Curry Up and Eat! | Lovely As Charged […]

  4. Quick + curry are my 2 favorite things. I’m having Indian food withdrawls!

  5. julie says:

    great recipe girl! i think you should change the serving size to 1 REALLY hungry julie haha. it would be very hard for me to not want to devour that entire shibang 🙂

    thanks for checking out my bloggie!

  6. Oh I love curry anything! i didn’t know vegan curry would be hard to find… ah processed food… the iced tea sounds like a great compliment to the meal!

  7. lol Wienerschnitzel Hut? For real? I cannot WAIT to see where you end up tonight! Your curry looks awesome, by the way – isn’t it the best when you find what you want ON SALE!? Have fun in Tampa babe! (:

  8. […] can walk in the door, kick off your shoes, toss a container of vegan curry in the microwave, and be curled up in your bed with a hot meal and SATC reruns in three minutes […]


Leave a Reply

