When life bitch-slaps you, smack it back.

Ayn Rand I am not.

I don’t like philosophy; I hardly have an introspective bone in my body; for every one part serious I’m nine parts sarcastic, and I’d much rather babble about food than feelings.

That said, humor me for the next five minutes.

Shit happens; we stand there, heads spinning, completely forgetting about the things we’ve bounced back from before. We forget our own strength and our own resiliency. We forget about who we are beyond the wounded and emotional creature that is currently sorting out more thoughts than a schizophrenic.

We try so hard to put on a brave face that we forget to be kind to ourselves. “Wallow” becomes a four letter word, and we get tunnel vision for a point in the (presumably near) future where things are “back to normal”.

What we forget, though, is that sometimes, moving forward requires looking back. When what we know is shattered, we can cling to who we are and immerse ourselves in who we want to be.

When all you want is “me time”, you have to identify what “me” needs.

For me, that was a night of crappy White Zin, marginally tasteless Mongolian food, and three hours of conversation with a best friend that made the entire tab worth it.

That was massive amounts of coffee.

That was F. Scott Fitzgerald and chocolate chip cookies.

That was a four mile run with Paramore.

That was changing out of the Asics and into a pair of four inch Charles David sandals.

That was an interstate drive with the windows down and the radio up.

That was a late night out followed by an early night in.

That was forgoing the salad because what you really wanted was a double serving of pasta.

That was soaking up hugs from ten year olds who love on you just because you love on them.

That was sneaking away from the same students and their nature hike leaders to spend a few minutes off the trail in downward dog, soaking up the sun and the fact that you feel incredibly peaceful and happy.

What is “that” for you?

And with that, I promise not to subject you to any more pseudo-philosophical ramblings for a long, long, LONG time!

11 Comments on “When life bitch-slaps you, smack it back.”

  1. I like the pseudo-philosophical ramblings! I’d have to agree with the run and the late night out with friends 😀

  2. I like your ramblings too 🙂

  3. Sonia says:

    love it.

    “that” for me is margaritas in the sun with my boyfriend 🙂

  4. Krista says:

    Me time = sitting out on my deck until 10pm this past week in the blessed warmth of summer.

    Great blog, BTW….

  5. me time = doing my makeup for no reason, because i should look pretty for me
    buying food i love not caring half of it might get wasted (hello watermelon, can of olives)
    checking out crayon scribbled cards i’ve saved from kids i used to work with

  6. Kelly says:

    Okay I am totally pumped that you posted a comment on my blog so I could come find you…your ramblings were great…your writing style is awesome! 🙂

  7. that for me is usually caving into the tears . . . I’m a crier, and somehow it’s all better after a cry, isn’t it

  8. Awesome post! My me time is more along the lines of shopping for great bargain buys (hello TJ Maxx!), reading an awesome new book, soaking in the tub with the candles lit, painting my nails some obnoxious bright ass color and making myself a big bowl of messy frozen yogurt (:

    • Faith says:

      LOVE TJMaxx! Unfortunately all my town has is a Marshalls, but they’re basically the same thing 🙂 Bright ass pedis are amazing too – have you tried OPI My Chihuahua Bites?

  9. i loved this! def made me think!

    my that: crying it alllll out, random cartwheels wherever I want to do them, and wandering grocery stores with the intent of buying nothing.

  10. Charlotte says:

    “That was changing out of the Asics and into a pair of four inch Charles David sandals.”

    …love “that” one!

    That for me was cleaning out my closet…while wearing my high school prom dress which I serendipitously found in the process.

    I’m really glad you found my blog – from others’ comments, it seems to be quite a skill of yours! I can identify with a lot of what you wrote in your other pages, and I just recently started my own blog to lend some sort of tangibility to what I hope is a permanent path of “recovery.” (I hate that word.) Cheers to all that you’re doing here, and I’m looking forward to watching all the best come your way.


Leave a Reply

