Winding Down

The best part of leftovers?

You can walk in the door, kick off your shoes, toss a container of vegan curry in the microwave, and be curled up in your bed with a hot meal and SATC reruns in three minutes flat.

Oh, the glamorous life of a single gal in a quiet little central Florida city.

Actually, I couldn’t be more thrilled to have a lazy evening in. It’s been AGES since I had nothing planned, and I am so ready to sleep off some stress!

My morning kicked off with a bowl of wheat bran blueberry ovaltine oats:

Blueberries were on MEGA sale – 4 containers for just $5!!! They’ve been in almost all of my breakfasts/snacks lately.


I’m fully aware that my cup bowl of coffee was bigger than my bowl of oatmeal. You gotta do what you gotta do to get through the day, no?

Especially when you know what the day has in store: Basketball, slip-n-sliding, and barbecuing hot dogs for a class full of hangry and hyper kidlets.

I swear, if you don’t feed them when they want to be fed, they will start eying you and the nearest bottle of mustard in a manner that makes you pray that there is no cutlery in arm’s reach.

Since I knew lunch was going to be chips and red meat, I brought an assortment of fresh fruit, a small faux-ham sandwich, and an ear of corn to grill.

What, you thought I was going to let the carnivores have all the fun?

Speaking of incredibly cheap summer produce – Publix had ears of corn 10 for $10! Booyah! Bummer that I only bought this one for today, but it came out so well that you better believe I’m going back for more!

I didn’t need salt, pepper, butter, nada. You’re perfect just the way you are.

A few more words before I turn my undivided attention to Carrie and Mr. Big:

  • I’m toying with the idea of smaller two-a-day posts instead of one big one. As a reader, does two posts in one day seem like too much to keep up with? Would you stop by twice to blogs you know update more frequently? If you blog, have you tried/can you keep up with double-headers?
  • Want a shot at 50 buckeraoos at a CSN store? Pop over to Julie Go Lean and enter her giveaway!
  • Speaking of giveaways…you’ve got a day and a half left to enter my Soy Candles by Phebes drawing! I’m still in love with the candles they sent me to try – don’t miss your shot to try one for yourself 🙂

See you tomorrow!

7 Comments on “Winding Down”

  1. You put ovaltine in your oats!? What a great idea 🙂

    I’ve been living by myself for about a month now, and I actually quite enjoy lazy nights on my own at home, so I can totally relate.
    ❤ Tat

  2. Lindsay says:

    I love a quiet night in every so often! After my exciting 4th of July weekend, I’m relishing this weekend of homebody-ness.

  3. I did the ovaltine in oats, too. Good, but not as malty as I thought it would be.

    And I see nothing at all wrong with your coffee cup being bigger than your breakfast bowl. That is as it should be.

    As far as posting goes, that’s a tough call. I have my own personal length level that I will stop reading a blog at if it goes on and on. So, I try to keep my posts to that length. Not sure how that rationalizes, but that is how I do it. If I have a topic that I feel warrants its own post, I will do that. Normally I don’t want to bog people down with too many posts.

  4. Tamizn says:

    I tried BBQ corn for the first time the other day and WOW its so good I’m definitely sold!

    Thanks for stopping by x x

  5. Becky says:

    A quiet night in sounds perfect…and grilled corn is quite possibly the greatest food of the summer! Delish!!

    As for posting, I think you need to do what works for you. When I first started blogging, I was posting multiple times a day and I think it was overload. I don’t follow a posting schedule anymore – just post when I have something to say – and that seems to be working well. Sometimes, I post twice a day, most times once, and occasionally, I need a whole day off to get the juices flowing again. As long as your posts are interesting, people will real, but when there’s too many, I feel like people stop commenting.

  6. Krista says:

    Blueberries and corn are so great right now. I can’t get enough!

    I don’t mind reading blogs that post once a day or 2-3 times. I personally blog once a day or 2 because that works best for me, but I’m not picky with how others want to *run* their blog. I’ll read no matter what you decide….I’m so glad you *lead* me to your blog!

  7. Pam says:

    This post reminded me I need to get more corn on my shopping trip today! Satisfies the raw vegan & the carnivores.

    For posting, I’d do what’s right for you. I can’t imagine posting twice per day, but obviously some do it and it works for them. I’m forcing myself to not even post every single day, so I don’t burn out.

    I catch most of my blogs on twitter, so if I see a fave blogger post twice in a day, I will click through and read it, because I can’t resist. But if I didn’t catch it on twitter, I probably wouldn’t make a special trip over to check.

    Hope that helps! 🙂 Love the blog.


Leave a Reply

