Chicken Soup Don’t Cut it Around Here

In lieu of the traditional “get well soon” soup, I decided to pull together an equally comforting, vitamin-laden Veggie Ribbon Soup.

I julienned a yellow squash, 1/2 a zucchini, 1/2 a sweet vidalia onion, a red potato, and a handful of baby carrots.

I boiled these vitalicious bad boys with some oregano and pepper…

And dropped them into a pot of Seitanbacher’s Vegetarian Vegetable Broth, to which I’d added a can of no salt added organic sweet corn that I’d pureed with a splash of almond milk in my food processor until smooth.

With it’s power partners: iced chammomille tea and a toasted whole grain Earth Grains thin bun with Smart Balance light (vegan).


I think it’s an unspoken rule that you have to eat bread and soup when you’re sick.


Just what the doctor ordered!

And with that, it’s back to bed for me! I know I’m wiped when all I want to do is eat, sleep, and play around on blogs!

6 Comments on “Chicken Soup Don’t Cut it Around Here”

  1. Charlotte says:

    Looks delicious, and hope you’re feeling better.

    One thing I always do when I feel a cold coming on is to boil fresh ginger (a lot!) in a pot for ~10 minutes right before bed, then drink it up and go to sleep with lots of blankets. It’s summer so it might sound a bit hot for this remediy, but the idea behind it is that you’ll actually sweat out your cold…it’s a Chinese medicine thing.

    Also, the ginger concoction will be spicy! You can add honey or brown sugar if you want to tame the taste a bit. Get well!

  2. Krista says:

    Great looking soup! Hope it scares your cold away!

  3. Aww I hope you feel better doll!! This soup does sound super tasty and very easy!

    I have never had smart balance, is it good?

    xxoo

  4. Becky says:

    Your soup looks perfect for beating down the sickness! Get well soon!

  5. This soup looks beautiful and delicious! Hope you feel better soon! 🙂

  6. sonia says:

    the soup looks wonderful! I hope you are doing better now 🙂


Leave a Reply

