Upping the Ante and Downing the C

Did you know that I have mischievous little urchins that live in my closet and run out in the middle of the night to perform alterations on my jeans? They’re especially fond of nipping them in at the waist.

Well…that, or I’ve been having a few too many condolence cookies this week.

Since it’s a safer bet that my jeans aren’t actually being tailored by denim-hungry closet-dwellers, I’m trying to cut back on all the little treats that I’ve been sneaking. All those little bites of student lunches, all the Land Sharks after work, all the slices of pie…I’m calling a temporary hiatus on the extra nibbles. I need to get this sweet tooth of mine back in check!

Am I trying to lose weight? Well, yes and no. While I do know my current weight, I don’t have a specific goal in mind. I’m not setting out to lose x amount of pounds, but I do feel like I’m currently hovering a bit above an ideal weight for me. I’d like to ditch the bloat and see where it goes from there.

Will I follow a specific diet? Not a chance in hell. I’ll never go back to a restriction-based plan. I’m just cutting out the unnecessary (and typically over-processed) things that I’ve been taking bites of here and there. While I’m all for small indulgences on an occasional basis, I’ve been doing it daily, and I can definitely tell the difference. I’m more or less cutting out the sweets, salty munchies, and drinks outside of water, tea, and coffee. Not a huge deal, and not a huge sacrifice.

So, what did that leave me with for breakfast? A nice, cleansing, energizing Green Monster! I “cleaned up” my favorite Java Chip Sludgeaccino recipe.

Dare I say that I like this version better?

Into the mix went 1 cup of spinach, 3/4 cup of brewed Starbucks Serena Blend coffee, 3/4 cup of original Almond Milk, 1 humongous banana, 1 tablespoon of flax seeds, a little over a tablespoon of dark chocolate cacao nibs, and a teaspoon of wheat bran.

Lahvely, just lahvely.

I have to run out for an oil change (dreadful, I know), but I have big plans to come home and curl back up in bed. I’m starting to feel a cold coming on, and I want to nip it in the bud! There’s no time to get sick!

Do you have any tried-and-true tricks for when you’re under the weather? I always pop lots of vitamin C tablets and up my fluid intake.

Have a stellar Saturday!

8 Comments on “Upping the Ante and Downing the C”

  1. Becky says:

    I definitely think Vitamin C and tea are the way to go when you’re feeling under the weather. Preferably, tea sipped in an air-conditioned bedroom….with plenty of trashy TV to watch!

    I feel like it’s an especially difficult time of year for sweets and treats. I tend to eat lighter meals in the heat and then pick at snacks more often. There are also lots of trips for ice cream, etc. I need to clean up my act a bit, too!

    Take care and rest up!

  2. I feel the exact same way about losing weight. Yesterday I hopped on a scale and found that I had lost 3.5 pounds by not even trying! I think the trick was that I changed my mentality and stopped seeing “unhealthy thin” as the ideal and now just want “healthy” 🙂

  3. greensandjeans says:

    EmergenC, water, and tea are my tried and true cold fighters! I actually haven’t been sick in over a year and a half (knocking on every piece of wood I can find)

  4. Eric says:

    Thanks for the comment! I’ve really gotten into green smoothies as of lately and drink one everyday after the bike commute home. I want to try out some cacao nibs in them now though!

  5. Make soup! That always makes me feel better. My grandmother makes the best pastina – brings me back to my childhood, so comforting. Hope you feel better babe! (:

  6. Molly says:

    I swear up and down by taking Echinacea and Vitamin C together. I take 2 echinaceas at every meal when I feel a cold coming on and it never progresses past 2-3 days. That and some good ole sleep will keep it away!

  7. Krista says:

    All the little bites here and there can sure add up. I have more trouble with that in the winter months.

  8. sonia says:

    I’m totally with ya on skipping the extra bites! I’ve been really bad about that this past week and I can see a difference. Too many after-work drinks, late night carb-fests, and treats at work… We can do this!
    As far as when I feel under the weather, I usually roast a pod of garlic with a little oil/wrapped in foil in the oven, and spread the butter on crackers or bread. I eat like the whole pod. I love garlic… I always feel SO much better after doing that!


Leave a Reply

