Sunday Sauce-day

Hey hey hey! How’s your weekend winding down? Ready for Monday? I think I am…maybe!

All I know is that I love having all day on the weekends to play around in the kitchen.

My lunch was the exact same as yesterday, but I followed it up with my first ever Banana Soft Serve! I’ve seen this on countless blogs but have never actually whipped it up.

Uh, what was wrong with me?!?!

It was a depressingly small serving, using only half a banana (left over from this morning’s pancakes)…but now I know for next time: GO BIG or GO HOME!

Topped with some dark chocolate covered cacao nibs. I just bought the bag Friday night, and it’s almost 2/3 gone! Someone must be stealing them, because obviously I’d never eat that many so quickly…;)

Since outside of weekends I rarely have the time to putz around in the kitchen to my heart’s content, I decided to take today and go to town with an all-day spaghetti sauce. When you make it from scratch, it always comes out the best if you let it stew and simmer for hours.

It all started with these babies:

I think tomatoes may very well be my favorite thing to photograph! I love when they’re full of character – the more bumps and notches, the better!

I sauteed up a sweet vidalia onion and four cloves of garlic in a dash of olive oil, then dumped them into a pot with the three tomatoes (cubed and eviscerated), a tablespoon each of oregano, garlic powder, and all-purpose Italian seasoning. The goodies stewed for five hours while I did important and productive things napped and watched The Proposal.

At 5 pm, I re-hydrated a half cup of TVP to make this a “meaty” sauce. This was actually my first time using the dehydrated soy crumbles, and all that it required was mixing equal parts water and TVP, letting it soak in for 5-10 minutes, and then browning in a pan with a dash of olive oil, salt, and pepper. Don’t let the complicated directions scare you away 😉

As the TVP set, I dropped the stewed tomatoes + 2 tsp Publix organic tomato paste into the food processor and blended until smooth. After I poured it into a saucepan, I added 1/8 cup agave nectar and plenty more garlic powder, sea salt, and fresh ground black pepper, along with the TVP.

Because the TVP is such a “thirsty” ingredient, I had to keep adding water to the sauce as it continued to simmer; I poured in an entire cup over the course of the next hour and a half. I was afraid that it would turn the sauce runny, but lo and behold, it stayed chunky and thick!

Finally it came time for my favorite part of the spaghetti making process…the Great Noodle Fling!

You know, the time when you take a noodle from the pot and fling it across the room to see if it’s cooked all the way through! If it sticks to the wall, it’s good to go!

Yes, I play with my food. Deal with it.

And that, right there, my friends, is happiness. With some sauteed skinny asparagus spears for good green measure.

What recipe have you seen (and seen, and seen…) that you just recently tried? Was it worth all the hype?

Catch y’all tomorrow!

10 Comments on “Sunday Sauce-day”

  1. greensandjeans says:

    If you aren’t using at least 2 bananas in the softserve you are going to be wishing for more!

  2. Danielle says:

    My mom taught me the great noodle fling when I was little and don’t do it nearly enough any more! Thanks for the reminder, and visiting my blog 🙂

  3. Salah says:

    I actually just tried the banana soft serve and my own homemade almond butter!!!

  4. I’ve been sorta, kinda wanting to try the overnight oats with banana soft-serve. I actually haven’t tried banana soft-serve either. I freeze bananas with the intention of making it, and then I always use them for my shakes instead!

  5. I really really want to try banana soft serve, but I’m sans a food processor (its on the wedding gift registry). Will a standard blender work?

    I guess I’ll have to give it a shot!

  6. sonia says:

    mmm I definitely use 1.5 – 2 bananas when I do softserve! It’s funny, I have been making the banana softserve for a while, but it still tastes just like….bananas. Obvi. This past week I finally started putting lotsa PB in it, or vanilla, and it’s WAAAY better than it was before! I’m going to post about banana softserve mint-choco chip ice cream sandwiches tmw! Inspired by Averie- she has some incredible recipes!

  7. Omg you and Maria (chasing the now) made similar dinners!! haha LOVE THAT! ❤

    looks YUMMY

  8. Lindsay says:

    Banana soft serve was one of those things that I only got around to trying a few weeks ago, and I wondered what the heck I had been waiting for! It really does taste like banana ice cream…glorious.

  9. I do the the wall trick for spaghetti, too!! My dad always stares at me like I’m crazy..but hey, it works 😛

  10. Charlotte says:

    omG your post inspired me to try banana softserve (FINALLY), sans blender and all. i added a bit of soymilk to soften, and it was SO.GOOD. I practically felt like I was sinning as I ate it, but I loved every bite of it…and every lick of the bowl :/


Leave a Reply

