What Crazy Looks Like

So for all my moaning, groaning, and whining about feeling sick yesterday, you’d think I’d be sprawled out flat this morning.

Except, I woke up at 7:45 feeling rested, clear-headed, and…raring to go for a run? It felt so wrong, it felt so right. (Don’t mean I’m in love tonight…come on, you know you were singing it too.)

The bottom line is, when my body is ordering me to go exercise, I listen!

And, when Katie orders us to post no-makeup, post-exercise photos on our blogs, I listen then too!

So there you have it, folks, a barefaced and exhausted chica with a body that can’t decide if it’s sick or strong. All your get well wishes must have been the trick 😉

I took a very easy pace around the lake, and finished a 5k in 33 minutes. Not a noteworthy time by any means, but I was consciously trying not to push myself too hard. I sprinted the last hundred yards or so to my car, but I was taking it pretty easy around the majority of the trail. The last thing I want is to move backwards and wind up more worn out!

Loaded pancakes were on the menu for a hearty post-workout breakfast!

I used half a banana pureed with a dash of almond milk as a binder instead of an egg, which of course transferred some of the fruity flavor, but also made the pancakes very fluffy and extra cake-like.

Pancakes: Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grain pancake mix, Organic Oats, Bob’s Red Mill Wheat Bran, Cinnamon, Flax Seeds, 1/2 pureed banana

Sauce: Publix All Natural Creamy Peanut Butter, Unsweetened Original Almond Milk, 1/8 tsp Agave Nectar

Dear Naturally More Peanut Butter:

You really are a wonderful food. We hit it off immediately, you make me smile, you’ve always been there, and we had a good run.

But I have to be honest: there’s someone else.

Publix Natural Creamy PB really understands me.

We have this spark, and I just can’t help what I’m feeling. There’s just something about his ingredient list that makes my heart flutter. You know couples argue about money, and his price is as fantastic as they come. Not to rub it in, but it’s $1.50 less than yours.

I know he’ll never have the flax seeds or the lower fat content that you have, but he’s a vegan, where you have egg whites, which honestly, has been a relationship red flag from the get go. But those things make you you, and I don’t want you to ever change for anyone, even me.

I can’t pretend any more. I think it’s time I see other nut butters. Please don’t hate me.

Love, Faith.

Has your body ever craved exercise when logically it should be craving rest? What’s your executive decision in that kind of case?

Are you a brand-loyal person when it comes to pantry staples? Or do you “play the field”?

Enjoy your Sunday, however you’re spending it!

4 Comments on “What Crazy Looks Like”

  1. Wow, you are gorgeous sans makeup! That’s your exhausted photo?! It’s beautiful! 🙂

  2. Molly says:

    Girl, you ldon’t need makeup! Your skin is like flawless.

    I use Naturally More PB right now and I gotta be honest, I stirred it, and it still ended up going hard on me after a week 😦 I generally “play the field” for the best value of PB/Almond butter as long as it’s natural.

    As far as exercising when I’m sick goes, I tend to rest if it is in my chest or giving me body aches. But if it is just a sore throat and sneezing, I usually carry on with my workout but take extra Vitamin C & Echinacea.

    Do you have the ingredient measurements posted for your pancakes? They look amazing and I want to make them!

    • Faith says:

      Aww, thank you!

      Sorry it took so long! The measurements were:
      1 cup Bob’s Red Mill mix, 1/8 cup wheat bran, 1/4 cup dry rolled oats, 1/2 banana (pureed with a dash of almond milk), 1 tbsp oil (I used Smart Balance Canola), just a handful of flax seeds, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a cup of milk. Let me know how they come out!

  3. You look gorgeous without makeup! Love the pic! And your breakfast = fantastic! I want some mmmmm mm! Yay for your run! (:


Leave a Reply

