Life is a Rush

The windows are down. Your hair is twirling in your face and tangled from the breeze, but you don’t care. In fact, you want it that way.

The soundtrack is blaring. The interstate landmarks are flying by and you’re zoning out, singing along with the lyrics that you’d know in your sleep, the lyrics that so acutely reflect your own thoughts that you may as well have written them for the band yourself.

Your skin is hot and sticky from the sun. There’s no air conditioning, just the wind from the highway.

In a few hours, you’ll be strapped into a metal car, staring out over an entire city, tiny hands clutching at yours as you wait for a latch to open, sending you barreling towards the ground at 70 miles per hour.

These are the moments that make life worth living.

Your life is yours, all yours, and all you have to do is let go and just live.

There are too many adventures to be had and too many things to see.

You have all the courage you need, waiting to be harnessed.

You can get hung up on all the little worries:

Or you can dive in. (Nobody will notice if you’re screaming like a little girl. That’s a promise.)

You can spend your life accumulating stuff:

Or you can hop on board with every single spontaneous adventure you have the chance to take.

You can build up walls…

And spend your time worrying about where you’re headed and when you’ll get there…

Or you can wake up and smell the barbecue:

Life is pretty sweet.

It’s unpredictable…

And that’s just how it should be.

Every hectic, terrifying, glorious minute of it. Now get out there and live it. Enjoy it.

Are you an adrenaline junkie? What makes you feel most “alive”? When is the last time you stepped outside of your comfort zone?

15 Comments on “Life is a Rush”

  1. Danielle says:

    I haven’t gone to Busch Gardens in YEARS! I feel like this post may make it happen this summer…

  2. Lindsay says:

    Beautiful post, Faith. I love your writing so much! πŸ™‚ I am definitely an adrenaline junkie. I love roller coasters, and I’ve gone bungee jumping too! I definitely want to do sky diving in the future as well. I feel most alive when I’m outside, pushing myself to my physical limits and basking in the beauty of nature. That feeling comes whenever I climb a mountain, particularly the awe-inspiring and majestic mountains of Colorado. I can’t even describe how electric it feels….

  3. what a fabulous post! i love it. and the new header. it’s simple…but i love the color πŸ™‚ i am NOT an adrenaline junkie, to say the least. i’m an endorphin junkie though! the last time i stepped out of my comfort zone was when i said yes to my very spontaneous NYC trip that’s coming up this week, well..hopefully. there was a family emergency on the other end so it might be postponed, so i’m waiting to see, which kind of puts me out of my comfort zone even more! i like to know the plans at all times… so i figure it’s a good thing not being in control for once πŸ™‚

  4. sonia says:

    love this post and the pictures! The lion looks so cool!
    I am definitely NOT an adrenaline junky. I’m terrified of rides and don’t really “get” the thrill of it all. When I last went home I swung on my sister’s swing set and THAT was a rush for me haha!
    That said, whenever I do get forced to go on a ride I end up enjoying myself- but not seeking that thrill!

  5. greensandjeans says:

    Love love this post! You are such a wonderful writer! I am a huge fan of roller coasters, but I probably haven’t been on one in five years!

  6. Susan says:

    So I really dislike roller coasters because they make me, erm, physically ill. But I LOVE this post. my life has been a bit of a roller coaster over the last year as I leap from one adventure to the next. It’s a little scary sometimes, but most of the time I just love the thrill of the ride. We’ve all been given a beautiful life, we should make sure we LIVE it to the fullest πŸ™‚

  7. Krista says:

    OMG…I love roller coasters! I’ll be on some in just a few weeks. What a rush! πŸ™‚

  8. Becky says:

    Fabulous post! Beautiful words and pictures! Cheers for living each day and experiencing what the world has to offer!

  9. julie says:

    gaah busch gardens reminds me of when i was a kid!! we ALWAYS used to love the germany section haha πŸ™‚

    i’m not an adrenaline junkie AT ALL i like roller coasters, don’t love them though. i could actually never step foot in an amusement park (well besides disney obvi haha) again and be totally fine with it

  10. Jenn says:

    Love when I read a post that I can relate to so deeply. This was wonderful. I feel the same way when I’m driving. It makes me so so “alive”, so “free”.

    I’m not really an adrenaline junkie although I enjoy roller coasters and have sky dived before. Since having kids I’ve become more cautious. I also lost two friends in motorcycle accidents which had a big effect of me. I still CRAVE adventure but would think twice now before jumping out of a plane. πŸ˜€

  11. FABULOUS POST!

    I feel most ALIVE when I am dancing, wandering around in NY, white water rafting, water sliding, singing, enjoying a meal with friends.

  12. […] Life is a Rush by Faith @ Lovely As Charged […]

  13. […] were a few more serious life lessons and inspiring moments as […]


Leave a Reply

