Waiter, There’s a Mushroom in my Coffee.

If Sunday mornings call for lazy breakfasts, Monday mornings call for hurried, get-me-fed-and-out-the-door feeding frenzies.

Thankfully I had two leftover pancakes from yesterday, which I inhaled straight from a bowl (to minimize the potential for sauce spillage, natch).

I may be crazy, but it feels like the banana taste intensified overnight. Now I’m beginning to wonder what other fruit could be pureed as a binder! Oh, the possibilities…

This morning’s breakfast reminded me of the Madre Labs samples that I requested with my last order over at IHerb when I first ordered the Bob’s Red Mill mix.

Supposedly, this instant organic coffee blend can boost your energy and fight fatigue, thanks to the addition of Cordyceps and Reishi mushrooms. As groggy as I felt when I rolled out of bed, I was in no position to turn down an extra jolt!

I’m not going to lie, it smelled like cheap soy sauce, and it didn’t taste much better. It was bland yet plasticky at the same time; the stuff was on par with a weak waiting room brew. I’m not holding my breath for an energy boost from the ‘shrooms.

Oh well, can’t win ’em all. Although…

We do have a winner for my Soy Candles by Phebes giveaway!

Congratulations, Anne! Keep your eyes peeled for an email this afternoon linking you up with Mike Hipp, who’ll hook you up with your candle!

And with that, I’m out to face the world! See y’all soon 🙂

4 Comments on “Waiter, There’s a Mushroom in my Coffee.”

  1. Cheap soy sauce?! Ugh…not a good taste there. I hate when things don’t come out tasting as planned.

  2. “Um Yum” popped to mind before I could even read the title of the post–lovely pancakes!

  3. I haven’t been on your blog in a bit. I always miss the best giveaways 😉
    Ewww! I could not even step near the coffee if it smelled like soy sauce! I once bought a bag of grocery store brand coffee (not for the taste but just to get me up in the morning for class) and it tasted and smelled like paint. Gag!

  4. Yay! 😀 (few days late but hey.. I was on holiday!)


Leave a Reply

