Perfect Ten

Of all the names I answer to, Fabulous Sugar Doll Blogger is an entirely new one πŸ™‚ Thank you, Lindsay, for passing on this award to me and my blog! It means a lot!

I’ve been meaning to do a bit of a “behind the blog” post for a little while now, and this seems like the perfect opportunity! And with that, ten random tidbits that I’m sure you were absolutely dying to know about me. (Try not to pee yourself with excitement.)

  • I’ve watched several family members go through dialysis and organ failure, and as a result, blood/organ donation is a pet project of mine. I’m signed up to donate anything salvageable once I kick it, and I strongly urge anyone who will listen to at least research and consider doing the same.
  • I’m laughably clumsy in flats, but put me in a pair of heels, and I’m practically superwoman. I can’t walk a straight line in sneakers but I’ve climbed trees in espadrilles.
  • Every time I hiccup, I say “hiccup” afterwards. I have no idea where I picked it up and I actually never noticed I even did it until someone pointed it out!
  • Even though I just graduated in May, I’m thinking about going back to school for a degree related to health and nutrition. I’m not even sure where to start or where it would take me, but health, nutrition, and fitness has become such a passion of mine that I’d love to incorporate it into a career somehow.

  • I walked in a bridal modeling show for Dillard’s as a freshman in college. My teeny 5’5 self was the shortest girl there.
  • I’m a certified scuba diver. I haven’t been on a dive in four years, but I’m dying to get back in the water (literally!).
  • Mayonnaise freaks me out on an indescribably deep level. If I can smell it, taste it, or know it’s in a dish, I can’t and won’t eat it.
  • I know more about football than most guys do. My great-grandpa was actually a linebacker for the Chicago Bears (well, back before they were the Bears, they were called the Staleys. At any rate, it’s in my blood.) I’ve been watching it since I was seven and I call a penalty before the referee can, not to mention throw a perfect spiral! Actually, back in 9th grade, I slapped a boy in the face when he told me he wouldn’t let a girl play football with him!

  • I have no idea what my natural hair color is anymore. I was born blonde, as a teenager it started growing in brown, and I started dying the roots to make it look like I didn’t dye it. In college, I got bored with blonde, dyed it red, and ended up loving it!
  • In college, I got Shanghai’d into playing on a quiz bowl team. A professor offered me a scholarship and time off from classes to play in tournaments with my best friends, and my competitive side ended up loving it. What can I say, I’m a humanities/psych geek at heart!

And now comes the hard part – passing it on! I literally read every blog on my blogroll daily, PLUS several more. I think I just figured out where most of my free time disappears to! I’ve “met” so many wonderful writers and readers that it’s hard to pick just five, but at any rate, my official designations for FSDB’s:

I thought about all of you guys out in blogland tonight as I ran through a freakin’ downpour.

One of my friends drove past me on the route, and I get into my car to a text from him asking if I was crazy. My answer? “One step short of crazy. Passionate.” It’s totally true! Eighty bazillion brownie points if you know what movie that was from!

I felt like I was caught in a monsoon! It’s a good thing I know that path like the back of my hand, because I could hardly see five or six inches in front of my face!

All the runners/bicyclists that I passed along the way were laughing at ourselves. One guy even joked that he should have brought shampoo!

Turns out, I should have brought band-aids.

I wiped ooooout. Bigtime. My left foot slipped in a puddle, and as soon as I felt my right foot hit the concrete, I knew I was going down. Folks, I ate pavement. It was not pretty. At all.

I finished the run with minimal pain, but as I’m letting my ankle rest a bit, it’s starting to hurt. It’s obviously not broken, but perhaps I rolled it?

I also now have road rash on my knee and upper hip. I feel like I’ve already overshared enough with my 10 things list, so you lucked out and won’t get pictures.Β  Suffice it to say, I’ve got some battle scars to wear with pride, and an ankle that I’m not sure what to do with.

All of y’all are incredibly fabulous! I want to know a random tidbit about each of you! The more outlandish the better – GO!

12 Comments on “Perfect Ten”

  1. I am a certified scuba diver as well. I haven’t been diving in a couple years, but I have done dives in Mexico and Cuba.

  2. Krista says:

    Good to get to know you better! Sorry about the wipeout. OUCH! Hope you don’t wake up aching tomorrow.

  3. “Mayonnaise freaks me out on an indescribably deep level. If I can smell it, taste it, or know it’s in a dish, I can’t and won’t eat it.”
    This I can agree with 110%. Yucky yucky.

    Weird fact: my thumbs are double joined and pop out of socket randomly. As a child, I’d have fun freaking out babysitters when crossing the street.

  4. Raymond James stadium! I was there for the Super Bowl last year. Well, I didn’t actually go to the Super Bowl. I was at a bar down the street with the rest of the Steelers fans. A random tidbit about me (related to football): I was Troy Polamalu for Halloween last year. Because we have the same hair and all. It was the best Halloween ever!

    http://twitpic.com/m4j9a

  5. Lindsay says:

    Love your list! It’s fun getting to know the people behind the blogs a bit better. πŸ™‚

    So I know I already listed my 10 facts, but I’ll throw out another one just for fun (a slightly stranger one that I didn’t necessarily want to proclaim on my blog! lol):

    I have naturally uber-flexible hips, so I can put both of my legs behind my head, pretzel-style. It looks just about as strange as it sounds.

  6. Jenn says:

    You are a cool girl. Seriously. So mulit-faceted…football….fashion…scuba diver…blood donor….mayonnaise hater. Being a supermodel in heels made me laugh out loud. πŸ˜€

  7. You totally deserve this award, and thanks so much for passing it along!!! I think it’s very cool that you’re a certified scuba diver…and that you’re more graceful in heels than flats. Who would have thought? πŸ˜‰

  8. erin says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog via Fitnessista’s comment section! Love your balanced approach to health and wellness. One quick observation on the above re: going back to school…

    First – Congrats on finishing the undergrad! I wouldn’t rush into a another degree or grad program if you are interested in health and fitness – so much of it is “on the ground” experience. I completed two masters degrees (public health and psych + an undergrad in health sciences) and I’ve learned so much more from working in the field it kind of makes the additional education feel like a ball-n-chain I have to pay back more than a worthwhile investment. Be 100% sure you need the formal education. You might enjoy and learn more through fitness certs and CEUs – many people in the fitness biz do what they do through practice, practice, practice!

    Keep up the good work!

    • Faith says:

      First off, thanks for finding my blog and the encouragement!

      Secondly, thank you as well for the education input. It’s great to hear from someone with real-life experience, especially since I have no idea where I’m actually going with this. I’ll definitely keep that in mind as I look into potential opportunities.

  9. sonia says:

    aww you’re so sweet to pass this on to me!
    I loved reading more about you! I think sharing personal tidbits really “makes” a blog, ya know? The heels thing is hilarious! I was in debate in high school and got sooo used to walking in heels at a young age- still love it! It’s good because I’m only 5’1″ πŸ™‚
    Sorry to hear about your fall- at least it’s a cool story!


Leave a Reply

