Kid at Heart

Hello blogettes! Staying busy? I know I sure am!

My students went skating and every time one asked if I would join them, I told them “Sweetie, I can’t. Miss Faith is on injured reserve today”. About the fourth child to ask me this looked me blank in the face and deadpanned: “I thought you didn’t believe in I can’t?”

The first time my group went to the rink, this particular child adamantly refused to even put on skates. “I can’t, I can’t” is all she would say. Now, this student is considerably overweight and clumsy, and I knew that she was afraid of being embarrassed. However, I looked her in the eye and said: “Tia, I don’t believe in I can’t. You say ‘I can’t’, and what you really mean is ‘I won’t’. If you won’t even try, just tell me that, but own up to it and don’t give me any of this ‘I can’t’ business.”

She reluctantly laced up a pair of skates and made two laps by clutching at the handrails and pulling herself by, but I was so incredibly proud that she made the choice to give it an effort.

When she put my words back in my face this afternoon, I wondered if I was copping out. Was it just easier to rely on a barely-there injury to relax for a few hours on the bench?

I ended up putting on a pair of skates and gingerly stepping onto the rink…painlessly! I hardly felt a thing for the next two hours, except for when I was stepping on and off the raised platform for the benches and bathrooms. I also decided to give my usual 3 mile run a go as well since nothing seemed to be exacerbated, and it went fairly smoothly. I feel like there may be a bit of fluid on the joint, but it’s very minor, and as long as it’s not causing any major discomfort, I’ll just let it be.

Sometimes the wisest words really do come from children.

I’m so thankful for my students, who daily remind me to never be satisfied with face value when thousands of questions are forming in your mind, that playing really is good for the heart and soul, and above all, not to take myself too seriously.

I actually just took a friend up on a spur-of-the-moment invitation to hit the town tonight, so dinner needed to be quick and easy. In keeping with my little-kiddish-ness, I pulled out a box of organic and vegan macaroni and cheeze from my pantry.

I know not all premade foods marketed as “healthy” are really healthy (I’m talkin’ to you, organic PopTarts), but this truly isn’t all that bad.

Mac & Cheese used to be my favorite food as a kid! I honestly haven’t had it in ages.

I rehydrated some TVP to bump up the protein power…

I also threw a dash of paprika and ground mustard on top for some zip. I love macaroni with a kick!

And since dinner doesn’t seem like dinner without veggies…a few steamed carrots with a drizzle of balsamic vinagrette.

And now, since balance is key, it’s time to get ready to go be an adult for a few hours!  Maybe there are a few perks to this whole growing up thing after all…

What do you miss most about childhood? For me, it’s got to be the nonstop clowning around! I’m not very serious very often, and I’m always cracking jokes. I have to consciously tone down the silliness at times, even though I don’t want to!

13 Comments on “Kid at Heart”

  1. I miss summer vacations! Spending endless hours swimming or sitting out on the porch at night catching lightening bugs. Oh to be carefree again 🙂

  2. julie says:

    i always wonder what kind of flavor paprika gives something! if it’s a little kick them i’m down for sure 🙂

    what awesome things you have to say about your students! i think i miss the “coming home for lunchtime” factor of being a kid haha

    • Faith says:

      It’s kind of hard to describe – a little zippy, not over the top (as long as you don’t overdo it, haha), sort of a mellow flame. You should toss it into something! I love it on mashed potatoes too.

  3. sonia says:

    the pasta sounds great! I need to try the mustard idea- you are SO creative in the kitchen!
    I miss sleeping in as a child! I miss staying up all night reading “young adult fiction” and waking up and reading more… I also miss my mommy doing my laundry 😉

  4. glad you got on the rink! i used to figure skate ya know…

    i miss not caring what was coming next! just lived everyday without really thinking about the next. I could use more of that in my life now.

  5. Lindsay says:

    I miss playing on playgrounds! That was just so much fun….

  6. Becky says:

    I miss playing dress-up and performing! I am still a drama queen, but it was much more fun as a little girl. Huge heels, Lee press-on nails, a 90’s perm – the works! My life was a song ‘n dance! I’m not shy and still love to dress up, but it’s a little different now 🙂

  7. Krista says:

    Ya can’t get anything past kids, can you? As for what I miss about childhood? I would have to say the freedom to do as I pleased and no worries about money, work, etc…

  8. I miss how carefree I was … having no responsibilities 🙂

    That mac and cheese looks super yummmmmmmmy – I love mac and cheese!

  9. Sarah says:

    I miss the mental freedom I had as a kid. I never worried about if I had a fat day or how my hair looked. I didn’t eat because I was bored or upset or emotional. I miss the carefree attitude I had towards my body. I remember that I focused on what I could do whereas now I’m semi guilty of focusing on what my body can’t do.

    Have fun tonight 🙂

  10. I miss eating what I wanted or what mommy let me and not overanalyzing it to death. I miss running around just to run and feel exhilarated. I miss the playground. I miss how a hug could change my day and how my daddy tucking me in was the best thing in the world!


Leave a Reply

