Man-cakes

Nope, I didn’t wake up this morning next to a gorgeous fella to cook for.

But if I did, do you really think I’d be at my computer right now?

After Sunday’s banana pancakes, I’ve been itching to try another fruit puree as an egg replacement. I don’t care that I just finished up the leftovers, I wanted to see how it would turn out, dammit, and the ultra-ripe mango in my fruit basket was the big red button begging to be pushed.

I skinned and pureed that sucker, and dumped it into the batter.

1 cup Bob’s Red Mill whole grain pancake batter; 1/8 cup flax seeds; 1/8 cup Bob’s Red Mill wheat bran; 3/4 cup almond milk; 1/3 cup water; 1 pureed mango.

Public Service Announcement: If you’re crazy enough to try this at home, DONT sample the batter. I am what you might call a compulsive batter-tester; this may have broken me of the habit. It was strangely tart – maybe from the combination of the fruit’s acidity + the almond milk? Either way, that single lick dropped my expectations to near nothing.

Reluctant to waste food, however, I pushed ahead with the experiment and plopped a pancake into a pan. The result was a hundred times better than the bitter batter! (Say that ten times fast!)

The man-cakes turned out extremely light and fluffy, albeit not very sweet, but with no real fruity overtone either. It was hard to time the flippage on these, though – I kept getting them too late as they were starting to over-brown, or too early, with uncooked centers.  Only one of them turned out perfectly, and the others were a bit doughy. Not that I’m complaining 😉

With PB sauce and blubes. Every pancake needs to be consumed in this manner..


Verdict: Passable. Yummy, even. But not a winner.

On the ankle front: It hurts, but randomly. When I’m moving on it, it’s hardly noticeable, but the first couple steps after sitting are no bueno. When I tip it a certain way, it tinges, and going down stairs is The Suck. From a medical standpoint, I have no idea what’s wrong with it – I suppose researching that will be my project for the day. Unfortunately, I think that also means no evening run. Hopefully I can scrounge up a good yoga podcast instead – one that doesn’t put a lot of impact on the legs. Any suggestions?

See ya tonight!

11 Comments on “Man-cakes”

  1. Becky says:

    Pancakes are my absolute favorite breakfast food – and I’m willing to dump pretty much anything into the batter. A good experiment never hurt – it’s the grown up way to play with your food 🙂

  2. I love pancakes. Obviously. I have not healthy-fied them in this way yet though! Want to try with applesauce but it isnt available to me now… in the future I am going to try this 🙂

  3. I love your simple pancake recipe – have to try this one out.

    As for your ankle, I’ve been recently having foot/ankle problems and it sounds like you are experiencing what I have. A little pain, but perhaps nothing really serious? I started using epsom salt soaks and ta-da: no more pain. Worth a shot, right? I do Yoga is Yummy (www.yogaisyummy.com) for some non impact yoga. I love the Yoga for Yummy Abs video and it requires no equipment.

  4. I’m still laughing from the first sentance 🙂

  5. Mmmmm, that PB sauce looks so yummmmmmmmy!!!!

  6. Krista says:

    Those pancakes sure do look tasty!!! Even if you call them *passable*! 🙂

  7. Lindsay says:

    Lol…man-cakes! Love it. 🙂 And no matter how much you protest, those pancakes look pretty darn good. I like how your recipe serves one! I hate that most mixes always make 3-4 servings….what if you’re a single girl who only wants one serving of stinking pancakes? What then, pancake mix? Lol…

    • Faith says:

      Hahaha! Actually, don’t hate me, but this made 5 small pancakes (two servings). I do hate that, though, that so many recipes could feed an army! I mean, I know I eat a LOT, but not THAT much!

  8. Those pancakes sure do look good at least! I just had a similar experience with my brownies, except they turned out to be wayyyy awesome when I thought they were going to suck completely. Love it when that happens!

    I can’t really think of many non-ankle intense moves. Maybe things like cat and up cat? hero’s pose, child’s pose, the ones where you’re pretty much not standing lol

  9. Mangos in pancakes are definitely delicious. I would have never thought to puree them like you did. Looks yummy! 🙂

  10. Allie says:

    How’s the ankle? Where exactly is the pain? Kind of sounds like tendonitis.
    Ice is bliss, especially an ice massage. Rub an ice cube over the area until numb (2-3 minutes), then let the body warm itself back up. Why it helps with healing? Your body restricts circulation to that area during icing to save the rest of the body (this is why it’s important to reach numbness–but not for too long); once you remove the ice, your body RUSHES blood, new nutrients, etc to the area & flushes out toxins & by-products (like lactic acid) of the injured tissue. Hope it feels better soon.


Leave a Reply

