Betta-Than-Feta Summer Salad

Well hello, everyone!

I’m writing this in the quintessential summer setting: Poolside, underneath a row of palm trees, sun beaming overhead…this is my kind of summer Saturday! I’m about ready to dive into Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar for the second time – it’s such a complex and captivating novel and right up my alley for a beach read!

Would you take a look at the size of this head of Green Leaf Lettuce?

You know as well as I do that such a purchase can only mean one thing…

Betta-than-Feta Summer Salad

  • Massive bed of Green Leaf Lettuce (I ate this straight out of a hugenormous 2.5 liter mixing bowl – wimpy little ceramic bowls just don’t cut it anymore!)
  • 3 tablespoons of vegan feta (recipe below)
  • 5-6 sliced Roma tomatoes
  • 5-6 grated baby carrots
  • 1 tablespoon roasted sunflower seeds

Vegan Feta Crumbles (loosely based on this VegWeb pizza topper)

  • 7 ounces (half a package) of extra-firm organic tofu, well drained (PS – in the market for a tofu press? Julie‘s giving one away!)
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/8 cup EVOO
  • 1 tablespoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon all-purpose Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

Directions: Mix all marinade ingredients together; hand-crumble the tofu into small bits directly into the bowl with the liquid. Stir well and allow to soak for 2-3 hours.

This was surprisingly close to the real deal – even the briny/tangy flavor was spot-on!

Being a very texture-sensitive eater, I was unsure how the uncooked tofu would hit my palette, but it wasn’t unpleasant or slimy at all.

Obviously, it was a bit more moist than a dairy feta, but in a good way – spooning in an extra drizzle of the un-absorbed marinade was even better than a traditional dressing!

I need to go slather on more sunscreen before I turn the color of that marinade…gorgeous for food, not so gorgeous for skin 😉 See you later!

This literature geek wants to know: What is your favorite book of all time?

Also: What’s your favorite Greek/Mediterranean dish? I can just tell I’m going to be putting this “feta” into everything!

17 Comments on “Betta-Than-Feta Summer Salad”

  1. Marina says:

    Salad looks gorgeous!
    I love feta, in everything. Hm, my favorite greek meal… well, greek salad, and some stuffed eggplant I had in a restaurant in Delphi. It was so amazing, stuffed with I think some kind of beschamel sauce. Greek deserts are also great!

  2. Lindsay says:

    That’s so tough to pick just one book!!! I have at least twenty I could list. I guess if I have to pick one, I’ll go with Gone With The Wind. Oh my goodness, I adore that book so much! Beautiful, epic, sweeping, romantic, poetic….everything a girl could possibly ask for.

  3. I m so happy you like our products!
    I put feta on top of everything, it’s addicting 🙂

  4. kaztronomic says:

    That looks so good! Yum. 😀

    You can’t ask me to pick my favorite book! That’s impossible! Now, if you ask me to list my top ten, maybe…but no, not just one. x)

    I love dolmas, so I’ll have to list them as my favorite Mediterranean dish. So good!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, btw. I’m glad to have found yours! I went ahead and added you to my blogroll and I look forward to your future posts. =)

  5. Kelly says:

    Hey pretty!! My favorite book of all time is To Kill A Mockingbird! I love that book…my copy is so old and well-read that some of the pages are starting to come out! haha!

    As for Greek dishes…don’t hate me….but I HATE feta. haha…can we still be friends?

  6. Oooooh favourite book of all time!! That is a tough one!

    I really love the non-fiction book “The Know it All”, but I don’t know if I could say it is my favourite. I love a lot of books!

  7. you definitely impressed me with this one!! wow you make a tasty salad!! the feta looks awesome ❤

  8. Wow that feta recipe does sound good!

  9. sonia says:

    OMG I loooove the Bell Jar! I am constantly reading and re-reading it…and have been for the past 6 years! I can just open it up anywhere and read a few pages and re-open it at a different place and do the same- love books like that 🙂
    I like feta in wraps! with apples, spinach, dried cranberry, and poppy dressing…so good.
    The Bell Jar is def one of my fave books of all time, along with all of the Harry Potter books, Madame Bovary, and House of Leaves. I will also read any kind of chic lit…

  10. Therese says:

    Oh my! Thanks for that recipe! I’m definitely going to have to try it! I LOVE feta and if it’s greek, I slather it with feta! This will definitely help to have a great meal with minimal guilt! 😉

  11. Hi Faith! Thanks so much for the comment on my bloggy!

    I have to say I LOVE feta. Seriously, it tastes amazing. And actually, this vegan version sounds really good. I need to go grocery shopping anyway, so might as well stock up on the tofu!

    Also, have you ever tried spanakopita? It’s kinda like a spinach pie and it’s so DELISH! Other than that, baklava is delicious as well.

    I’ll visit again! Have a nice day! 🙂

    • Faith says:

      Oh my gosh, spanakopita is one of my favorites! I tried making it at home once, and the phylo dough kept crumbling! So delish, though 🙂

  12. Krista says:

    The head of grren lettuce you had there makes me happy! I like that you made your own feta, too. Very creative!

  13. […] faux-feta , apple, and grilled peach wrap that I downed for […]

  14. […] cherry tomatoes roasted with a drizzle of olive oil, vegan feta, and savory oregano were the stars of the […]

  15. encadienele says:

    Very Interesting!
    Thank You!


Leave a Reply

