I’m a Woman More Dangerous than a Shotgun.

Good morning!

How were your Saturdays? Mine FLEW! I met up with my best friend and her husband at Outback and then we went to a downtown theater for a screening of The Godfather. They couldn’t believe I’d never seen it!

Let’s just say I wasn’t really missing anything. It was more or less three hours of “I hate you, I keel you, Let’s have a glass of wine.” Maybe it was the heavy dinner, the (sub-par) drinks at the restaurant, or the movie in and of itself, but all I wanted to do for the last hour was curl up and go to bed.

Despite waking up with a hankering for cannoli and Merlot, my belly made me an offer I couldn’t refuse: Brownie Batter Oats!

Protein Brownie Batter Oatmeal Topping

  • 1/8 cup Bob’s Red Mill Whole Wheat Pancake Mix
  • 1/8 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon chocolate-flavored protein powder of choice
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Agave Nectar

Directions: Combine all ingredients in small dish, mix thoroughly. Microwave for 10 seconds; stir mixture (to prevent caking); microwave 8 more seconds.

You might have to play around a bit with the microwave timing depending on your particular model, but you don’t want to let it get too cakey. When you get it just right, it’s the perfect goopy but slightly firm batter to coat your oats with!

I plan on having this Monday, Tuesday, Thursday

Leave the gun. Take the cannoli Oatmeal.

Yes, I’m done trying to see how many references I can make in one post. What’s your favorite movie quote?

15 Comments on “I’m a Woman More Dangerous than a Shotgun.”

  1. Becky says:

    Brownie Batter Oats! Genius!

  2. sonia says:

    oats look great!!
    I don’t know if I have a fave movie quote…It’s so weird, whenever I finish watching a movie, I immediately forget half of it… I guess that’s why I can watch the same movie over and over and not get bored 🙂
    Some of my favorite quotes probably come from Mean Girls, though!

  3. Why hello breakfast of my dreams!! Your creation will be detrimental to my waist, but beneficial to my overall happiness lol

    And I’ve still never seen The God Father! Which is probably an insult to my crazy Italian family – don’t tell! (:

  4. Meg says:

    Confession: I’ve never seen The Godfather either, haha!

    Oh my goodness that breakfast looks dreamy – I love it. Anything chocolate is perfect. I hope you have a beautiful weekend!
    Meg

  5. thats incredible that u used pancake mix in there to make this!! LOOKS SO CHOCOLATEY AND YUMMY – cake meets oats, oh yea!! ❤

  6. One of my favorite movies is Breakfast at Tiffany’s. So many quotes from there.. Like getting the “mean reds” or any reference to the poor nameless cat. Sigh…I think I have to go watch that movie now. Again.

  7. Molly says:

    I have never seen the Godfather either and for some reason this shocks people (mainly my guy friends). It must be some kind of epic movie.
    Umm brownie batter topping? Yum! What kind of protein powder do you use? I just used up the last of my cheapo kroger chocolate soy/whey.

    • Faith says:

      Ha! It was the sorriest epic ever. Most cult movies I can get behind – Rocky Horror Picture Show? Grease? Breakfast Club? Rocky? All awesome. This one? Blech.

      This recipe actually used up the last of my Gold Standard Whey Protein Powder. Even though I’m not completely vegan, I do want to find a vegan protein powder for my next purchase. I hear Vega is pretty popular, albeit pricey, but it might be worth a shot!

  8. I think that this recipe for brownie batter oats is going to change my life. Have you seen mine for zucchini bread oats? I feel like I should give something to you in return!

  9. Mmm, that really does look like brownie batter!!

  10. Krista says:

    Those oats look/sound scrumptious!!!

  11. […] brownie batter oats have yet to get […]

  12. Oh my word that is genious!

  13. 14yearoldvegan says:

    brownie batter oats? mmm sounds like a delicious breakfast to me! ❤ almost even like a sweet indulgence like a dessert


Leave a Reply

