Empty Cabinets = Sheer Terror.

I just had the most horrible dream.

I woke up to make breakfast, and upon stumbling downstairs, I discovered that all of my breakfast staples were missing in action. Oats? The container was empty. Bananas? Nada. Pancake mix? All used up. Even the seldom-turned-to tofu scramble goodies were gone.

Oh wait. That wasn’t a dream.

Dun dun dun.

What’s a girl to do?

Slam back a cup of Starbucks while considering the options…

And end up slathering a Earth Grains Thin Bun in melty peanut butter, flax seeds, and cinnamon.

Sweet dream? Not so much. Beautiful nightmare? You betcha.

If you have that song stuck in your head for the rest of the day, don’t blame me 😉

For a few days I’ve been meaning to share an incredible opportunity to shake up your own fitness routine and help shape a runner-in-the-making.

The August Marie Claire featured a blip about Girls on the Run – an organization where women can pair up with a teenage running buddy to mentor and help train for a 5k.

Working with kids myself, it’s incredible to watch  students actually take an interest in their own physical health. They may not love me when I ask them what ingredients they think they’re eating when they tear through a bag of Doritos, but I sure love trying to get them to take note of nutrition and fitness. I know that I’m incredibly inspired by your blogs and emails, and so many of you have an incredible message to share!

Unfortunately, my city doesn’t have a chapter, but if any of you have a local program, I hope you’ll consider getting involved!

Have an awesome Monday – start the week off strong, baby!

8 Comments on “Empty Cabinets = Sheer Terror.”

  1. Becky says:

    I wish my city had a Girls On The Run chapter. I would love to empower the kids in my community through running. My students always ask to come to my races – LOL! – so I know they would love it! The Hall Steps Foundation is interesting…it’s fairly new, but seems to have grant money available for different running programs. I’m considering contacting them when school starts again.

  2. sonia says:

    Girls on the Run sounds like so much fun! Maybe I should train myself to run a 5K before I do something like that…

  3. That breakfast looks very pretty … pretty good for having to wing it!!

  4. Lexie says:

    This is so amazing! I can’t wait to get involved after I establish myself more as a runner.

  5. Wow, just when you thought you had nothing for breakfast a heavenly vision appears before you. Peanut butter makes everything ok as far as I’m concerned!

  6. kaztronomic says:

    I had a similar experience, except, instead of being out of ingredients, all my pots and pans were dirty. xD I had to wing it with rice cakes instead.

    Girls on the Run sounds like an amazing program. I wish my town had a chapter, too.

  7. What a great program! I’ll have to see if there is a program in Minneapolis…even though I am not a huge running fan, this might get me back into it! 🙂

  8. Krista says:

    I think you came up with a decent breakfast! Deliciously melty PB!


Leave a Reply

