Operation Energize

Hello there!

Can I just say I’m in a FABULOUS mood? My body actually woke up a half hour before my alarm, and a power yoga podcast seemed like a brilliant way to pass the extra time. I’m almost considering waking up early for one or two early AM yoga sessions every week, but I think I love my sleep as much as I love my yoga. One thing’s for sure, though, I love feeling like I can take on anything!

My mission this morning was to fuel up better than I did yesterday. For the record, this is a much less challenging task when you’re working with a full pantry!

Nothing beats a Smoothie in a Bowl for energy!

In the smoothie: Big ol’ banana, Original Unsweetened Almond Milk, the last 4 leaves of my massive head of Green Leaf Lettuce, 1 tablespoon Bob’s Red Mill Wheat Bran, flax seeds, ice

Toppings: Kashi Honey Almond Cereal,  fresh blueberries.

I’m thinking this should do the trick!

I’m not above a little insurance, though 😉 This stuff is gold!

Get your head your whole self in the game.

I like to think I’m fearless. I also like to think I’m a supermodel, but that’s beside the point.

I had climbed to the top of a three story rope pyramind yesterday and one of the other teachers (with both feet planted firmly on the ground, mind you) screamed up to me, asking me if I wasn’t afraid to fall and hurt myself.

Not a chance.

I look at my arms, scratched up from falls, bruised from God-knows-what, and slightly pink from a weekend by the pool. My legs bear similar scars, but to me, they’re signs of life. They’re reminders that I wasn’t afraid to get in, get dirty, and get a little dinged up in the process. They’re trophies for playing hard and living at a million miles an hour.

Sure, if I hadn’t wiped out running in the rainstorm the other day, I wouldn’t have the three inch road burn on my left elbow. If I hadn’t fallen out of a tree a few months back, I wouldn’t have the indent on my right shin.

The scars, though, remind me that not only is my body strong enough to survive pain, but that I didn’t let the fear of pain keep me from playing.

“It’s a shallow life that doesn’t give a person a few scars.” ~ Garrison Keillor

In my eyes, if you don’t get a little dented here and there, you played it too safe. I don’t want to get to the end of my life in floor-model condition. If the play clock runs out and you’re sitting cross-legged in the bleachers instead of sprawled out flat on the field, you didn’t give the game your all.

Nobody remembers the waterboy or the backup roster. It’s the quarterback, standing strong in the face of the blitz and taking the sack like a champ that makes the SportsCenter highlight reel.

Far be it for you to shut yourself down to opportunities and to people because you’re afraid you’re going to get hurt. You deserve to truly feel and experience all that life has to offer. You’re going to get the bad along with the good, but the fear of the bad should never override the desire for the good.

In reality, the ship seldom sinks and the plane rarely crashes. For every bungee that breaks, there are billions that do exactly what they’re supposed to do when they’re supposed to do it. You have to trust yourself. You have to believe that if you climb, you’re going to hold on tight enough not to fall. You have to believe that you can hang in there, because you can.

I want to leave you this morning with my absolute favorite quote. It’s one that I’ve written on my bathroom mirror, on a post-it in my car, and that I repeat to myself whenever I’m fighting to stay inside my comfort zone.

“The sense of danger must not disappear…Look if you like, but you will have to leap”. (~ Leap Before You Look, W.H. Auden)

How often do you find yourself playing it safe? What could you gain from being fearless, if only for a brief moment?

14 Comments on “Operation Energize”

  1. Great post and so, so true! It is often the things that scare us the most that brings us the most awards. I love the scars that I have from all my different adventures. Skydiving was one thing that I did that was pretty scary, but it was so worth it!

  2. I am trying to “play it safe” less lately. If something is easy it isn’t as rewarding!

  3. What an amazing question and an amazing quote at the bottom. Far too often, I play it safe. I think I would gain life experience, a sense of excitement, and joy from being fearless.

  4. julie says:

    mmmm smooothie in a bowl is seriously the perf way to start off the morning! and the kashi crunch is such a solid choice for the crunch facto!

  5. Molly says:

    I play it safe way to often. I will need to work on loosening up a bit. I know you are supposed to think about “consequences” but I tend to over think things. This post has encouraged me to have an “unsafe day”. No, I don’t mean that I’m going to do anything to jeopardize my life, but I want to open myself up to more things. Here is an example of how I have let myself do something TOTALLY out of my comfort zone this month:
    http://mollyrunsfresh.wordpress.com/2010/07/12/day-3-of-xc-camp-flyin-high/
    It was freakin’ awesome 🙂 Life is more fun with a little craziness

  6. love this post! so well written and inspiring. I try not to play it safe to often… but it’s hard not to stick with the herd (especially in harder times).

  7. Sarah says:

    Oh I’m a big weanie. I get really stressed and worried about so many little things. Love that quote! I need to remind myself to be fearless sometimes. No regrets!

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    WOW! Ohmygosh I just found your blog! You are an amazing writer with amazing stories to tell! I can’t wait to read more!

    (btw, I like your smoothie breakfast 🙂 )

  9. Anna says:

    Don’t you love those days where you just feel like you could take on the world?!?

    I try to not play it safe…but it’s an awfully hard rut to break out of!

  10. […] love that you guys are embracing being fearless.  Life is too short to spend in a comfort […]

  11. Krista says:

    I find myself playing it safe way too often lately. I continue to “force” myself to do things that make me uncomfortable in the hopes that they will eventually become my normal…

  12. Allie Finch says:

    Aw, yes, the feeling of being out of our comfort zone. Yikes. I like to play hard [rock climb, kayak, bike, etc], so I don’t necessarily “play it safe” in that aspect. I love experiencing & embracing life & these activities are a big part of doing that for me; we are only guaranteed This Very Moment, right? That’s what we gain from being “fearless”: This Moment. However, I definitely hold back in other aspects of my life because of that out-of-my-comfort zone-can’t-breathe-sick-to-my-tummy-feeling. I’d rather climb hundreds of feet up a cliff face than, say, market myself face to face 😀
    “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something else is more important than fear.”~Ambrose Redmoon
    Living is more important than fear 🙂

    Great topic Faith. Given me much to revisit & think about.

  13. […] I’m human. I’m going to make mistakes. I’m going to mess up… but that doesn’t mean I’m a failure. I’ve said it before, yet somehow I stopped living by it: you can’t be afraid to fall. […]


Leave a Reply

