Roasted Tomato “Feta” Couscous

Whoa, is it Wednesday evening already?

This week has been speeding by and dragging along all at the same time!

I just found out that next Friday is an end-of-the-month potluck for work, and I’m required to bring a side dish. I need your best recommendations! I definitely want to go all out and impress – give me the best recipe/link you’ve got!

After this morning’s muckup, I definitely felt the need to redeem myself in the kitchen. I needed to prove that I don’t always consume funknasty concoctions that nobody sane would ever eat and that a food blogger in her right mind would never take responsibility for.

I’d like to thank dinner for so graciously offering itself up as a sacrifice for my culinary redemption.

I had a blank slate plate in front of me and a handful of options. Delectable but simple was the order of the night, and it came to be in the form of my favorite whole grain dish – couscous!

Since experimentation is obviously not my game today, I opted for classic Mediterranean flavors, adding a few simple ingredients to a Near East Pine Nut Couscous blend.

Halved cherry tomatoes roasted with a drizzle of olive oil, vegan feta, and savory oregano were the stars of the show.

This right here is proof that a meal need not be gourmet to be absolute perfection.

What is your favorite whole grain? I love couscous because it’s so light and fluffy – brown rice is a close second though!

11 Comments on “Roasted Tomato “Feta” Couscous”

  1. Rice is definitely my favourite grain! Oats are a close second!

  2. greensandjeans says:

    I love couscous! Definitely number one for me too! I’m going to have to try your faux feta because I have a huge crush on the real thing

  3. I love couscous because it cooks so FAST!

  4. Simple summer meals like that are the best!
    I think my favorite grain, as of lately, is pasta!

  5. Lindsay says:

    I’m a big fan of quinoa because it’s a whole protein as well as an awesome grain! I’m kindof obsessed with all whole grains though…not going to lie. Asking me to pick a favorite is like asking me to pick my favorite child. It’s too difficult. 🙂

  6. kaztronomic says:

    I love roasted buckwheat groats. I’m actually sort of obsessed with them right now, really. So yummy!

    Your dinner plate is so pretty! Where did you get it? =)

  7. Buckwheat, which is not a grain but a flower seed but is the only one my body can digest properly!

  8. Mm.. how about baguette with goat cheese and fig compote? tha’s a dish that has been successful for me at parties 🙂 if figs are not your thing, honey is awesome too! if you want the recipe shoot me an email 🙂

  9. Krista says:

    I’m a lover of quinoa with couscous pulling in a strong second. Both are so darn versatile, easy to prepare and delicious! My cupboards never go with these 2 grains.

  10. […] just made a delicious looking Roasted Tomato “Feta” Couscous. […]


Leave a Reply

