The Fourteen Hour Power Nap

Whoops! I think I was in a time warp since Thursday!

I’ve been going going going and finally, last night, I was gone. I laid down for a quick catnap before dinner last night and wound up passed out for fourteen hours! I was apparently dead to the world, because I woke up this morning at nine o’clock to a phone full of messages asking if I was okay. My bad.

Moral of the story: Getting home at 3 am on Thursday night + Getting up at 7 am on Friday morning to tour an aquarium = major crash. Granted, I suck at math, but I should have seen that one coming.

What I didn’t see coming, however, was this:

Apparently, my right ankle is hell-bent on being a butthead. Not even two weeks after wiping out in the rainstorm, I managed to hurt it yet again.

Halfway through Thursday’s run I managed to strike down on the pavement on the outer rim of my foot. Off balance, the awkward angle buckled under my weight and I heard it crunch as I fell. After more or less picking the gravel out of my teeth, I cursed and gimped the remaining mile back to my car. I wonder if my body isn’t telling me to take it easy for a little while.

Naturally, the next day I had to hobble around the Tampa Aquarium all day. I kind of felt like this guy:

FEED ME.

Except…I feel asleep before I was supposed to meet up with some friends for dinner. You know you’re in bad shape when your body prioritizes rest over food! At least that sentiment didn’t last long…

My brownie batter oats have yet to get old!

Neither does a bowl of baked apples with Thirty Second Peanut Butter Sauce and wheat bran:

I swear, I look for excuses to make this sauce. Always have, always will.

Thirty Second Peanut Butter Sauce

  • 1 heaping tablespoon all-natural unsalted creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened original almond milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon amber agave nectar

Ridiculously complicated directions: Microwave ingredients for thirty seconds; stir.

Gooood stuff, my friends, good stuff. Now excuse me while I go lick the bowl.

15 Comments on “The Fourteen Hour Power Nap”

  1. Too bad with your ankle 😦 hope it get’s better soon!

  2. oh no! maybe if you give your ankle a cookie it will be better. you can do that by putting the cookie in your mouth – it will then travel down to your ankle and spread out feelings of HAPPINESS! and JOY!
    oh btw… guess who’s making 30 second peanut butter sauce for oatmeal tomorrow! 😉

  3. Aw, I’m sorry about your ankle! Fingers crossed for a speedy recovery for you. Glad you at least got some well-needed rest, though.
    Your oats look amazing!! And I love the PB sauce – I enjoy doing something similar, as well 🙂

  4. Kiersten says:

    Sorry about your ankle! I have to say, if I were injured those brownie batter oats would make me feel better!

  5. kaztronomic says:

    Ouch, sorry about your ankle!

    I second Lauren’s recommendation of a cookie for your ankle. Heck, I’ll eat one too, but only if it ensures your leg feels better soon (oh, the sacrifice!). 😉

  6. Fourteen hours?! Girl, you got some much-needed rest 🙂 I think if my body conked out for that long, I would have had to do some serious damage in the first place. I hope your ankle feels better!

    ❤ Tat

  7. greensandjeans says:

    Oh no! I hope you ankle gets to feeling better!

  8. april says:

    Oh that sauce sounds amazing!! A great way to extend the measly amount of 1 tbsp right?? 🙂

  9. Ouch to the ankle! I did something to mine too – but I have no idea what. I hurt it last Friday, and it doesn’t seem to be getting better. I think it is time to see the doctor on Monday.

  10. She-Fit says:

    WOW! You must have been super tired. Glad you were able to get some rest… sounds like your body really needed that.

  11. Run Sarah says:

    Hope your ankle feels better soon. I’ve had super long sleeps like that too – my body totally needed it! I’ve made a similar PB sauce but didn’t think to add agave for some sweetness; I’ll have to try that.

  12. So sorry about your ankle! 😦

    And I think it’s about time I tried your brownie batter oats!

  13. Krista says:

    Your poor ankle!!! Hope it’s feeling better. Your oats are looking fab…


Leave a Reply

