Who needs cake when you can have a scone and spaghetti?

Good evening! Thank you all for the sweet birthday wishes – I sure feel loved 🙂

I also feel hecka full!

There was no cake…but I did swing in Starbucks for a mini vanilla bean scone.

Far be it for moi to complain about having leftover cake on hand… but this was just the right size for a sweet specialty that didn’t leave me with a week’s worth of leftovers!

CHOMP!

Shh, don’t tell anyone that I ate it before my actual meal!

You all know that in my book, Sundays = Italian food. I’ve always loved eggplant parm, but it’s such a heavy dish that I rarely order it.

This afternoon, I whipped up a Wheat Bran Breaded Eggplant and served it with whole wheat linguine and Classico all-natural Cabernet Marinara.

The eggplant I used was MASSIVE! I’m not kidding: the thing was as big as my head! Can you believe I only paid 99 cents for this at a local fruit stand?

I sliced a third of it into 1/2 inch rounds, which were then liberally coated in EVOO and dipped in a wheat bran crumble:

Easy Wheat Bran “Breading

  • 2/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill Wheat Bran
  • 1 tablespoon oregano flakes
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder

Coat both sides…

Bake for 12 minutes @ 400*; flip; bake another 12 minutes.

They should come out nicely browned and still firm – perfect to perch atop noodles and smother in tomato sauce.

The best part is that it’s so much lighter than the mozzarella-smothered versions in most Italian restaurants. Next time I’ll be using a vegan Parmesan though, and a different sauce – I was a bit underwhelmed by the Classico. Sadly, it was bland and a bit tart.

Do you have a favorite store-bought spaghetti sauce?

See you guys tomorrow!

14 Comments on “Who needs cake when you can have a scone and spaghetti?”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Ah! That looks so good! Surprisingly, I’ve NEVER had eggplant parmesan!!! I’ve had a lot of chicken parm, but never eggplant. This makes me really want to try it! In fact, maybe I will muster up the courage to go buy an eggplant 🙂

    I usually make my own spaghetti sauce (super easy: canned tomatoes or tomato paste and italian spices in the blender), but when I used to buy the stuff I’d buy Muir Glen Organic.

  2. happy belated birthday 🙂
    mm that mini scone looks so good! i keep seeing them at starbucks and have been meaning to pick one up.
    italian night = my kind of night. love me some pasta!

  3. Mimi says:

    I’ve recently remembered how much eggplant rocks.

    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog–it led me to yours! I really love your energy and positivity…and damn good eats!

  4. carascravings says:

    That’s a great idea…I love wheat bran!
    Also adds some good extra fiber!

  5. I LOVE wheatbran … why have I never thought to use it as breading?! Definitely need to rememebr this 🙂 And I cannot get over how huge that eggplant is, especially for only 99 cents! Our grocery store has been getting in huge ones lately, which is sort of a bummer for me. I don’t want to waste am afraid if I bought one of the large ones I would.
    I’ve been loving Ragu pasta sauce, surprisingly! I think it’s one of the cheapest ones, which is good for me, haha. I also love Newman’s Own, but that’s for sale and/or coupon days 😛

    • Faith says:

      I know, right? I’m so afraid I’m going to end up throwing part of it away…but I think I’m going to roast up what’s left…or maybe eggplant fries? Either way we’ll just say that this week is going to feature a lot of eggplant dishes!

  6. Oh wow!Those eggplants look so good, I must recreate them at home!

  7. kaztronomic says:

    I love how healthy your eggplant parm is! It looks so delicious, too.

    I love eggplant, but right now they’re insanely expensive at the store and I’m not sure if it would be worth the investment. Hah.

  8. My fave spaghetti sauce is the basil version at Trader Joe’s. It is so easy to spice it up with veggies and other herbs. It makes for a great base!

  9. I cannot believe how giant that egg plant is!! Those slices of it take up the whole plate!!

  10. that eggplant is HUGE! i ❤ crazy big produce!
    looks good… apart from the fact that i'm not too keen on eggplant myself. i'd love to try to make it with zucchini though 🙂

  11. Krista says:

    A vanilla bean scone sounds like the perfect b-day treat!!! WOW That egg plant is huge. And what a steal you bought it for, too…

  12. that looks so good! I love eggplant parm too 🙂
    I have done something similar with Fiber One instead of wheat bran but yours looks better!
    For sauces..I love Emeril’s kicked up marinara and also any Newman’s Own brand sauce!

  13. […] no secret that I love me my coffee and I love me my scones (I even brought one home from Starbucks in lieu of a birthday cake this […]


Leave a Reply

