The Inadvertent Interval Sprints

As I sat down to write this post, I realized I rocked three workouts yesterday! I’m a champ, baby!

My first workout came in the form ofย  an epic two hour game of park tag. Seriously, folks, it was like doing interval sprints with rock walls and monkey bars thrown in. Those kids weren’t messing around, either – they were relentless! My shirt was literally soaked through with sweat by the time my sorry behind plopped down on the bus. I actually woke up a bit sore in my arms from one of the contraptions that required you to hang on to a handle while jumping from one wobbly mushroom to the next. Intense, I tell ya!

Workout two was a gorgeous, three-mile run through a light, drizzling rain after work. For once, the temperature was below 90 degrees (only slightly, but I’ll take what I can get!) I nailed the 3 miles in a respectable (in my eyes, anyways) 28:08. I honestly can’t wait to get back to treadmill running, where I find it easier to be consistent with my time as well as monitor my splits. The air conditioning doesn’t kill the appeal either ๐Ÿ˜‰

If that won’t make you want to sit down and eat two pans full of food, I don’t know what will…

So that’s exactly what I did!

Volume eating was definitely in order! No veggie was safe from a massive roasting project!

Lemon pepper broccoli, garlic and sea salt green beans, eggplant cubes with Montreal Chicken seasoning, naked corn.

For some obligatory post-workout protein, I spread a dollop of peanut butter on a few apple slices. I had no idea that would also turn into pre-workout fuel for round number three: Power Yoga! I was definitely feeling some tightness from the afternoon, so I busted out a few Downward Dogs and Extended Mountains on my own, but it felt so amazing that I decided to go for this 20 minute podcast from yogadownload.com. This was hands-down one of the favorite classes I’ve done so far!

Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It’s Off To Work I Go…Two more days and then I get a two weeks off from work! As much as I could use some solo downtime, I’ll be headed home for a belated birthday celebration with the family, and I think I’ll be crashing there for the extent of my vacation! I could use some home pampering ๐Ÿ˜‰

Do you ever find yourself accidentally working out?

14 Comments on “The Inadvertent Interval Sprints”

  1. I find treadmill running to be a great workout as well. When I go to the gym, the only machines I will do are the Stairmaster or the treadmill because they don’t allow me to slow down and be a lazy gym-goer ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Molly says:

    I have never found myself working out on accident. I guess that is because I am on a xc/track team so I usually have a daily workout and then the rest of the day is whatever! I just discovered yogadownloads.com and love it! The instructions are so clear I didn’t need a video to understand the poses.

  3. vegetable overload!! u sure know how to feed ur body good ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo

  4. Accidental workouts are the best! I went paddleboarding over the 4th of July in Lake Tahoe and my abs felt intense the next day! I loved it, but it didn’t feel like working out the whole time.

  5. Accidentally working out … hmmmm, don’t think so! I wish though!!

    You totally ARE a champ girl!

  6. kaztronomic says:

    I love those huge dinners where every single vegetable winds up on the roasting pan. ๐Ÿ˜€ Filling and delicious.

    You’re a machine! Look at you, knocking out all those accidental workouts. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m sore and famished today…from mopping and polishing the floor! I mean, it was 55 degrees out, and I had all the windows open and I was mopping in my sports bra and covered in a sheen of sweat. It was pretty intense.

  7. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    How fun! I love tag!

    Love those roasted veggies. have yet to try roasting corn on the cob.

  8. julie says:

    mmm love your massive veggie roast! especially the corn ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s summer’s sweeeeeeeet candy! i love when the kernels get super brown and crispy!

  9. Faith says:

    That sure is a plate full of goodies! Roasting veggies brings out such great flavor!

  10. sophia says:

    I “accidentally” work out when I go grocery shopping…I don’t have a car, so I have to lug all the bags home…hey presto! Instant bicep curls!

  11. thats what my veggie plate looks like with just ONE workout. lol. I “accidentally” work out everyday when I walk to dog–I love having a 20 min walk thrown into the middle of my afternoon.

  12. Love roasted veggies!

    With the heat and all the traveling/walking I’ve been doing lately for my internship, it seems like everyday is a workout! I had a desk job before so now that I’m going up and down stairs seeing clients, I’m totally getting a workout. Not to mention just walking to the parking lot is a workout in this heat!

  13. Amy says:

    LOVE YOUR BLOG.

  14. WOW, you’ve been busy working out!

    I don’t have a car so many days I end up walking a lot more than I thought, otherwise I never exercise accidentally ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Roasted veggies – woohooo! maybe THAT would be my tonight’s dinner?


Leave a Reply

