Trashy Trash Can Brownies

Remember my big plans to whip up a dazzling, healthy contribution for my company potluck?

They flew out the window yesterday around 6 pm when I stood in the aisles of Publix, still no idea of what I wanted to make and even less of an idea what I could actually con my health-food-averse coworkers and students into actually eating. The arm-length To Do List for the evening may have also had something to do with it.

I defaulted. Cheated, even.

Thankfully, Betty Crocker’s got my back.

You can’t tell me that you didn’t love Trash Can Sundaes as a kid. I always jumped at the gummy worm and Oreo-laden bowl ‘o sugar…hence my executive decision to make Trash Can Brownies!

Gee, how did I manage to purchase an opened and partially-eaten bag of gummy worms? I really should be more careful 😉

Gummy worms, Oreo “dirt”, and Reese’s Pieces “rocks”.

For a brief second I felt a bit of guilt for copping out with such a trashy treat from a box, but hell, they’re cute, tasty, and I know they’ll get eaten.

I’m off to to the picnic…thank goodness it’s the last day of the summer program! I’ve got a glorious two weeks off without a kid in sight, and I’m driving home right after work to spend it with my family and old friends! See ya soon!

14 Comments on “Trashy Trash Can Brownies”

  1. Neenie says:

    heh heh! thank the lord for Betty Crocker! she helped me out of a fix last week too!! bless her heart!

  2. Molly says:

    those look scrunptious 🙂 they remind me of the “dirt cake” that I used to make all the time for potlucks and stuff because of the oreos for dirt and gummy worms. Dessert tastes way better dirty!

  3. Susan says:

    I’ve never seen those brownies before! They are so cute!!! In my experience, it’s the simple desserts like cookies and brownies that always go first. Betty Crocker is famous for a reason 😉

    Odd… I don’t think I’ve ever bought a full and sealed bag of candy 😉

  4. that happens to me sometimes too… just so much effort if people aren’t going to appreciate it! but tonight im heading to a dinner party and will bring a salad with jicama and peaches….totally showing you up aren’t I. j/k 🙂

  5. Those look DELISH! I mean, how can you go wrong, really?

  6. Sarah says:

    Mmm gummy worms are my favorite! I like to freeze them for movie snacks.

  7. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Ahhh! I used to love those! I especially like it when they put brownie, layer of chocolate pudding, and then the “dirt” mix.

  8. I’ve never even heard of trash can sundaes?! HOW!?! They look badass – I need some in my life immediatelyyyy 🙂

  9. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Mixes can be great and they come in very handy when in a pinch!

  10. kaztronomic says:

    Out of a box or not, they look delicious! Ole Betts has bailed me out a few times, too. 😉

  11. Those look so good! I had something called “dirt cake” just ONE TIME in elementary school and still remember it today… I drool.

  12. Tina says:

    Those types of desserts always remind me of childhood. And they look good too.

  13. Faith says:

    I’ll admit, Betty has my back a lot of the time too, lol! These look delicious and they’re so much fun! (LOVE the gummy worms!)

  14. Jenn says:

    These are most definitely cute!!! Hive fives to Betty and you!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

