The Best Laid Plans…

…always go to shit. (Hey, I never claimed to have the tact of Steinbeck.)

Theoretically, right now, my mum and I should be in Tampa, getting our downward dog on at Salutation Nation. I even bought a real yoga mat for the event, seeing as schlepping the shag rug out of my bedroom was a bit crazy, even for me.

At five in the morning my mum woke me up to tell me her legs were sore and that she was too tired to go.

First rule of thumb: Do not wake me out of a sound sleep. I am prone to unconsciously hitting the fool who attempts this maneuver.

Second rule of thumb: Don’t give me crappy excuses laden with the word “can’t”. In my mind, can’t is almost always synonymous with “don’t want to try”.

In my mind, it’s one thing to listen to your body and know your own boundaries. It’s another to be constantly looking for an “out” for something you don’t particularly care to attempt.

After grunting some semblance of an acknowledgment and rolling back to bed, I woke up four hours later a little miffed and a lot hungry. Oats were definitely in order!

Strawberries, flax seed, and a homemade (via a health food store) natural Valencia peanut butter.

On the bright side, now I have a completely free Saturday to catch up on blogs and just chill…and who says I can’t do some yoga at home? I have another willing classmate…

Sometimes you’ve just gotta roll with the punches.

Are you a go-with-the-flow person or do you crave structure? Does the same thing apply to your workouts?

14 Comments on “The Best Laid Plans…”

  1. Britta says:

    This is hilarious because yesterday I had a yoga class for two girls who never showed up, called and asked to resched. which was fine, but I just spent the whole morning waiting around for nothing! lol, then this morning, I had a yoga class with my mother in law via skype but she couldn’t get her camera to work, so it was another no go for my yoga attempts. There is a new moon on the 9th, and the yogis say never to practice when the moon is doing funny things…

    I like to say I’m go with the flow kinda girl in general, but when it comes to workouts it’s always 3 days on, 1 day off or else I start feeling all grumpy!

  2. greensandjeans says:

    I’m usually a go with the flow person. Right now things are a little more structured because of my marathon training, but even then, as long as I get my long runs in, I’m good!

  3. Carla says:

    I’m SUCH a structure person…I plan my meals for the week…I plan my workouts for the month. EVERYTHING in my life needs structure! I wish that I knew how to go with the flow more:(

  4. I crave structure. I try to be more laid back and go with the flow and roll with the punches and all that jazz but a happy Samantha is one that has things go as planned, simple as that!

    Your cat is so cute btw!

  5. I crave structure, but a lot of the time I end up going with the flow … both work for me!

  6. I’m very structured…terrible with rolling with the punches…argh.

    The kitty is doing some great yoga!

  7. I’m definitely a go with the flow girl! I like structure in the sense that I always get what I need to do done, but other than that, I don’t mind changing plans or whatever!
    I can’t stand it when someone acts like it’s the end of the world when something teeny tiny changes!
    But- I totally get why you were miffed today- I would be too!

  8. I make lists and schedules and sometimes use my phone too. Planning is a big thing for me. People who go-with-the-flow (like my bf) drive me a teensy bit crazy. 🙂

  9. Meg says:

    Aw man! I hate being woken up from a peaceful slumber as well, but at least we always have breakfast + pets to look forward too! Oh, and blogs! I hope you enjoy your Saturday as much as humanly possible 🙂

    I love structure, but only sometimes 😉 spontaneouty is FUN too!

  10. Sarah says:

    Awe, hahah. Love the kitty-pose.

    I only get peeved when it’s someone else that messes up my plans. I go back and forth with scheduling stuff and going with the flow, but when I do have a schedule, I like to stick with it.

  11. Love the kitty yoga going on! 🙂 I crave structure, BUT most of the time it doesn’t happen!!

  12. I always thought that I was go with the flow, but I like my structure. I am trying to be more go with the flow when it comes to food & exercise. It’s tough.

  13. Krista says:

    Love that cat! 🙂

    I def need structure in my life long term. I can handle going with the flow for short periods of time only. LOL

  14. Jenn says:

    I’m both structured with some things and not so much with other things. Definitely , structured with my workouts 95% of the time. Food is about 50% of the time. I feel my best with a flexible plan.

    I want to scratch the kitty’s tummy. LOVE kitties!


Leave a Reply

