Suck it up, Cupcake.

I won’t lie – blogging sure falls by the wayside for me when I’m on vacation! To me, vacation time is best spent lounging in pajamas and doing lots of nothing at all. Not that blogging doesn’t fall handily into that category, but my nothing looks more like thousands of scrabble games and Project Runway marathons.

Last night I finally got off my bum in the name of baked goods. Vegan cupcakes seemed to be in order.

I followed this Vegan Chocolate Cupcake recipe that I hunted down on Wikipedia. With my mother’s sparsely stocked cabinets, I needed something that called for the simplest of ingredients. After I made a few modifications, my batter wound up as follows:

  • 1 cup UVAB (unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze)
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup white flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1//2 tsp almond extract

Simply curdle the milk with the vinegar in one bowl, sift together the dry ingredients in another bowl, mix in wet ingredients to the now-curdled almond milk, and end by adding the dry ingredients to the wet and mixing until a slight foam appears on the top.

How I ever left enough batter in the bowl to fill a dozen cupcake tins is a mystery. My love for batter is real and it’s deep. But you already knew that 🙂

Not one to pass up the opportunity to cover chocolate in more chocolate, a simple vegan frosting came about. There was a lot of improving to get the consistency right, but I mixed together powdered sugar, Smart Balance Light, UVAB, and a dash of almond extract.

Not bad at all for my first foray into vegan baking! Between my grandparents, my mother, and myself, only four out of the dozen remain 🙂 In our defense, I sent a few with my grandmother to her hairdresser who always sent me home trinkets when I was a little girl.

I think I’ll be baking another batch this evening to take back with me to Lakeland. I thought these came out very nicely, but not quite as moist as I’d hoped they would be. Do you have any suggestions on how to doctor up tonight’s batch? The batter was runny to begin with, so I don’t think adding more UVAB is the answer.

12 Comments on “Suck it up, Cupcake.”

  1. maybe more oil and vegan chocolate chips? they LOOK great!

  2. These look great! I’m bookmarking them to make after my $21 challenge is over!

  3. These are gorgeous!
    You say chocolate, I’m sold 🙂

  4. Krista says:

    Lovely cupcakes! And I agree about blogging/vacation. I’ve be slagging, too! LOL

  5. Sigh.. chocolate frosting is my weakness! Mmmmm

  6. Vegan cupcakes!! They look delish, Faith! I know what I’m making for dessert tomorrow… 😀

  7. They look great! I love baking vegan cookies because the dough is the best part 😛 Maybe to help with the moistness, add in a bit of vanilla or plain greek yogurt. That tends to help, I’ve found 🙂
    And I’d say you’re enjoying your vacation just right 🙂

  8. kaztronomic says:

    Those look amazing, and vegan to boot? I’m all about that! I know I’ll be making those this weekend. 😀

  9. Mimi says:

    Pretty damn good foray! I LOVE rifling through other people’s cabinets and creating awesome stuff. I get more creative than with my own pantry, haha.

  10. Those look so good 😛 I wish I had the enthusiasm for baking too!

  11. That recipe sounds great, and I have all the ingredients on hand … except for turbinado sugar – what’s that?


Leave a Reply

