She’s a Runner, Rebel and a Stunner.

Good evening!

I spent quite a while this afternoon transferring my blogroll to Google Reader. I have no idea why it never dawned on me before to do that instead of clicking through my “Lovely Around the Web” page every day to read updates. I’m a little slow sometimes.

Conversely, I wanted dinner to be quick. Thus, my Garden Hodgepodge Orzo Salad was born.

Check it:

  • 8 ounces cooked orzo pasta
  • 10 baby carrots, cut into chunks
  • 1 zucchini, cut into matchsticks
  • 1/2 cupย  sliced black olives
  • 1/2 cup sliced pickled beets
  • 1 – 16 ounce can organic pinto beans
  • 1 – 16 ounce can organic cannelini beans
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette of choice – to taste

Nomulous. (What the hell is nomulous supposed to mean? NOM + Fabulous? I have no idea. I really need to think before I let words tumble out of my mouth/fingers. Although I’m too bemused by that particular “word” to backspace it into oblivion.)

Letting Go.

It was interesting to read what you all had to say about getting burnt out on a hobby and losing your passion for various pastimes. All of you seem to have such a level-headed opinion regarding allowing yourself some distance/leaves of absence to maintain the desire to do it in the first place.

I love running. I really do. I love that I’m capable of cranking out 5+ miles, I love the endorphin high, and I love the sense of accomplishment it brings.

I don’t love that I’ve been pushing myself to a point where it no longer was enjoyable. I was focused on the end (X time or Y distance) and not on the means – the actual enjoyment of the sport and the good feelings it brought my body. When, in the near future, I get it in my head to get back on to the concrete, I’m going to keep the latter as my motivation.

What are your tips for avoiding exercise burnout?

13 Comments on “She’s a Runner, Rebel and a Stunner.”

  1. Krista says:

    I haven’t had orzo in ages but love it! Thanks for the reminder.

    To avoid burnout I keep things different in the gym. Different machines, workout DVD’s, etc. Seems to work!

  2. To avoid exercise burnout I always have a scheduled off day. I’m part of a team so obviously I have routine practices but not on Sundays so I take that day and chilllllllax, bake, blog, shop, let my body rest ๐Ÿ™‚ Then I’m ready to hit Monday’s practice with lots of energy

  3. Ha – I don’t think I have ever experienced or come close to exercise burnout ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sana says:

    Oh my goodness! That looks amazinggg! You should try taking some group fitness classes!!! Mix it up and make it funn!

  5. greensandjeans says:

    I’m late to the party, but I LOVE the new layout!

  6. Neen says:

    the new look bloggy looks fab! well done! x

  7. Jenn says:

    I was late on Google reader too. Hello! Speaking of google reader I haven’t clicked through in a while and wanted to say LOVE your new layout. It’s LOVELY. ๐Ÿ˜€

    To avoid burnout I mix things up, write new workouts, try new moves, keep a journal to continually challenge myself, and take rest days.

  8. Sarah says:

    I’ve noticed that I switch activities for each season. Skiing in the winter, swimming in the summer (at least I USED to do that), and now I’m trying running for spring and fall. Mostly I’m running now to keep in shape for skiing in the winter, but I’m finding that I enjoy it all by itself!

  9. I’m going to b honest with you here… I have never considered Google reader. I’m loving the idea though!

  10. Hayley says:

    Dinners like that are my favorite- I love mixing together big bowls of grains, beans, and veggies. So yum. Or you know.. nomulous. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Nic says:

    Usually I burn out from running after training for a race. After the race is finished, I do something else for a month or so. Slowly I’ll get the urge to run again and when I do I remember why I loved it so much in the first place ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. kaztronomic says:

    That pasta salad looks so good!

    I’m glad you’ve switched to Google reader — makes things so much easier, doesn’t it? =)

    The only advice I have is, avoid routine. I hate the monotony of exercise, so I try to stay active every day in different ways, whether it’s hula-hooping for a half hour to my favorite songs, or scrubbing the house from top to bottom. =)

    PS: the new layout is AWESOME. So clean and streamlined. I love it!

  13. Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun. says:

    That is totally nomulous lol. I’ve never used orzo in a salad, great idea that I might need to copy!

    Trying a new workout or setting a new goal usually gets me out of my workout burnout. Sometimes a simple day off does the trick too.


Leave a Reply

