Speed Demon

I would like to preface this post by saying that I feel like my run of approximately twenty yards from my recycling bin to my front door was an all-out sprint and that the nomer of speed demon is entirely appropriate. I majorly busted butt, y’all.

Thoroughly exhausted from all that effort, I had big plans to spend my afternoon catching up on Google Reader. I proceeded to do this until about 11:50…when my phone lit up with a text from my man asking if I wanted to catch lunch at 12. My scraggy, unshowered self definitely wanted to, even though I wasn’t sure how I would pull myself together in 10 minutes.

Game. On.

Showering, teeth brushing, and a quick wardrobe raid ate up five minutes, leaving me with five to pull on a face. Thankfully, I’d taken a few extra seconds to exfoliate in the shower, so my skin was fresh and glowy. I actually find that just a bit of table salt mixed into your basic face wash works nicely to scrub off some dead skin without shelling out the cash for a separate product, so long as you don’t store the salt in your shower (the water will make it clump.)

A good tinted moisturizer is key here. Look for one with a SPF and in one swipe you’ve knocked out your sunscreen, day lotion, and a base in one. Since foundation tends to look cakey and a tinted moisturizer is sheer and sinks into skin much easier, it looks far younger and fresher to boot! My pick is Covergirl’s AquaSmoothers. The best part? It’s cheap and easily available (under $7 at Target!).

Genetically, I was blessed (if that’s what we want to call it) with mayjah undereye circles. My aversion to sleeping may make them a bit more noticeable, but thankfully, Yves Saint Laurent’s Touche Eclat highlighter/concealer hybrid is a genius at camouflaging them. Since my circles are a force to be reckoned with, I layer it over concealer for a bit more coverage, but the light-reflecting particles in the cream make me at least look like I’ve slept in oh, the past year.

When I’m in a time crunch, I like to play up my complexion. Most days I focus on my eyes, but when there’s no time for an elaborate shadow routine, a warm flush brightens up the whole face and looks fresh. Since powders feel a bit mask-like and require a brush for application, a cream is ideal – it also doubles as a lip color! Bobbi Brown’s Pot Rouges are my cream blush of choice – not only are they HUGE containers that will last a lifetime, but they’re not as dry as others and melt beautifully into skin.

Add a quick swipe of mascara and you’re good to go! Just don’t forget to take your time and enjoy yourself once you get where it is that you’re going 😉

What’s the fastest you can get dressed? What are your time-crunch beauty essentials?

P.S. – Be sure to pop in tomorrow for a reader-requested discussion on how to avoid conflicts of pettiness and jealousy when living with other women. I’m sure we’ve all been in a position where the estrogen takes over and things get nasty! Dorm dwellers especially won’t want to miss this!

15 Comments on “Speed Demon”

  1. I love hearing about people’s beauty routines! I couldn’t have done the 10 minute thing… I take waaay too long in the shower, no matter how late I am!
    I also NEVER leave my casa without a full face of makeup 🙂
    My faves are Clinique foundation and mascara and bronzer, and welll anything Clinique! I also love mark lip gloss, and Victoria’s Secret has some great stuff also.

  2. I hear ya on the under eye circles. Damn them!

  3. Faith says:

    I’ve got bad under eye circles too (or allergy shiners, lol!) so I’m glad for the tip! I use facial moisterizer, eye cream, a mineral-based powder, and a touch of mascara. And lip gloss. 😉

  4. Lindsay says:

    I am realllllly low-key when it comes to my “beauty” routine. I hardly ever wear much make-up unless I’m going out somewhere special at night…but for my normal time-crunched schedule, I will slap on some moisturizer with SPF and a ton of mascara…and that’s about it. If I’m feeling really ambitious, I might throw on some eyeliner. I wish I did more, but I’m really lazy in the make-up department. Lol…

  5. i have those eye circles too!
    i adore my tinted moisturizer. and i keep the trial sized stuff (clinique bonus time!) in my purse for when i’m really in a pinch

  6. I’m the ready in 10 minute type. I don’t know what to do with more than 30 minutes! 🙂

  7. kaztronomic says:

    Seriously? You went from icky to out the door in ten minutes?! My jaw dropped. You rock! I take at least 6-7 minutes in the shower, and that’s when I’m trying to rush it (I have a low-pressure shower head, though). If I have to shave, that takes another five or six minutes. Then getting dressed, in just plain jeans and a shirt, takes another four minutes or five minutes. And don’t even ask me about putting on a face — that’s another five.

    I have awful circles, too. Makes me look so tired all the time! My quick go-to face is coconut oil, a sweep of matte powder, and mascara. If I have a couple more minutes, I use a bit of liner and shadow, and a quick bit of base.

    I admire/envy how time efficient you are!

  8. Yesterday morning I was invited to attend a fancy pants Exec meeting at 730a. I set my alarm for 601a so that I would have plenty of time to shave the legs and dress in my cutest business suit. Welll, alarm didn’t go off and I woke up at 646a. I was showered, shaved, appropriately dressed, by 715a…not bad for having to be put together 😉

  9. Sarah says:

    Oooh I love the idea of the cream blush. My essentials are almost like yours. I use a tinted spf + moisturizer to even my skin. And mascara because my eyelashes are blond and I look sleepy without eyelashes 😀

  10. The fastest I can get dressed is about 30 seconds if I have to!!

    My time crunch beauty essential is powder, and mascara!

  11. Krista says:

    I’m gonna keep my eye out for that CG product. Sounds fantastic! I’d say I can be good to go in 15 minutes….

  12. Wow, you are speedy! I would say my 10-minute routine would be lightning fast shower with definitely no hair washing, a dress and sandals, and a bit of concealer and mascara. Bam!

  13. I’m a 20 minute girl during the week and on weekend it depens where I’m going 🙂

  14. K so I’m definitely going to have to pick up some of that under-eye YSL glory. I have circles too, and am always on the lookout for a product that will get rid of them once and for all!!!
    Thanks for the product babe ❤

  15. Sarah says:

    I am impressed with your ten-minute routine. I don’t think I could get in and out of the shower in 5 minutes! Wow.
    Loved the make-up tips. I’ve been thinking recently that I could use a serious re-vamp of my make-up routine.


Leave a Reply

