Simple POM Smoothie

Good morning guys!

I hope you have a million wonderful things planned for your Saturdays! I know I do – I just wanted to pop in with a quick post to tell you to stop the world, grab a banana and a bottle of POM Wonderful, and make the most amazing smoothie known to (wo)man.

A bit ago, Ryan from POM Wonderful contacted me about partnering with their company by sampling a case of their 100% pomegranate juice. Since the product seemed like something I’d actually purchase of my own volition, I was thrilled to agree.

Yesterday I was tickled to find this package from POM on my doorstep, and in an extraordinary show of self control, I managed to bring it inside and photograph it before I tore into the goods 🙂 Sit. Stay. Good blogger.

Since the POM is respectably free of any added sugars, it is slightly more tart than your average juice. I happened to like the tang, but most sugary drinks turn my stomach to begin with. V8? No gracias. Fanta? *shudder*. Since 8 ounces already contains 34 grams of natural sugars, not adding more was a good call on POM’s part.

After a small sample of it juice straight up, I decided that a POM-ified smoothie would be the perfect late afternoon snack. Into the blender went:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 5 ounces POM
  • 8 ice cubes

Simple, no? And ohhhh so smooth and delicious.

Very possibly the best smoothie I’ve had in approximately…ever.

Would it be a waste if I just made one of these every day until all the POM currently in my fridge is gone?

I kid. Sort of.

I at least want to one brilliantly creative thing with a bottle. Do you have any ideas for me and my POM? If not, I guess I’ll just have to use ’em up in smoothies. Oh the horror…

PS – CSN Giveaway @ Slice of Life! Hit it up!

18 Comments on “Simple POM Smoothie”

  1. They sent me some POM Juice too!
    I seem to remember trying it a long time ago and not liking it, but it is actually really good and sweet!
    Love it!

  2. Here’s a recipe 😉

    Take a martini (cosmo) glass and add 1 shot Peach Absolut, 1 ‘shot’ (+) of Pom, fill the rest of with champagne!

  3. yum! Ryan sent me a box of POM, too- around the time I started my blog!
    I made POM macaroons… http://masterofherromaine.blogspot.com/2010/03/kitchen-experiments.html

  4. greensandjeans says:

    I’ve used Pom in my oatmeal, in pancakes, and definitely in smoothies! I also used some in salad dressing.

  5. hmm i’ve not tried POM, it does look lovely though!

  6. Ashleigh says:

    Thanks for the giveaway shout out!

    That smoothie looks delicious!

  7. I love POM juice with sparkling wine!

  8. very nice! love how u whipped up a smoothie with the pom juice. im thinking if u bake anything u should totally use pom.. or even in pancakes. hmm u could totally make frozen banana ice creams with pom as well.. what else.. pom popsicles maybe? ❤

    xoxo

  9. kbwood says:

    Wow ive seen so many of these smoothies over the blog world! this is a MUST TRY!

  10. Faith says:

    I’ve got POM in my fridge too, and this looks like a great use for it! Next time I want a sweet treat I’m going to try it. In the past I’ve made POM brownies (amazing, really, really amazing!); the recipe is on my site if you’re interested.

  11. kaztronomic says:

    Pom + banana sounds like such a winning combination! I have yet to try POM before, but you’ve got me interested in sampling it. =)

  12. “sit stay, good blogger” LMAO. i feel the same way!

    I got some POM too… ill be doing a whole post later in the week 🙂

  13. Sarah says:

    I really wanted to make some sort of pork with a pomegranate reduction sauce… but mine expired so quickly I didn’t have time!

  14. I received some pom a little while ago too, but I haven’t been able to think of anything creative to do with it yet!! I’ll be stalking for ideas ;D
    That smoothie looks DIVINE, by the way ❤ will be trying that asap!

  15. DiningAndDishing says:

    Love that idea! I always drink the juice as-is but it can get a little boring after a while. Thanks for the recipe!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  16. So good! I can’t lie…I love to drink POM straight from the bottle. Eek!

  17. joyce says:

    Definitely trying a POM smoothie now!

  18. Sarah says:

    That smoothie looks delcious!


Leave a Reply

