A Regular Girl, Celebrity Dreams.

Wale. 90210. Listen to it. Yes I’m being bossy. But I’m allowed to. I’ll tell you why after you listen to the song.

Did you skip the song and scroll down to read my news? No? Liar. But I love you all anyways.

Without further ado…

I’m officially hired as a full time preschool teacher!!! (And yes, teachers get to be a bit bossy. It’s in the job description. Literally.)

Want to hear the craziest story ever?

I’d been asking my boss all summer to help me find a full time position within our company. I love what I do and the kids I get to work with, but there was no way I could support myself on the fall schedule of 20 hours a week. She kept promising me to look into things but after months of no progress, I decided on Monday that I needed to look elsewhere because the savings were only going to stretch for so long.

On Monday night, I began looking around online for some relevant openings. I sent in resumes to a handful of jobs in multiple fields, and on Tuesday morning, I woke up with an email from a director of a VPK asking me to come in and fill out an application. The site was literally 2.5 miles from my house, so on my way to work, I dropped by and started some paperwork. As she watched me fill out the application and re-reviewed my resume, she told me she thought I would be an excellent fit and asked me if I had time for an interview. Taken a bit by surprise, I checked the clock and told her I had a bit before I needed to be at my current job, and she called in the other hiring director.

Thirty minutes or so later, I walked out feeling like I’d NAILED the interview (a far different cry from this fiasco a few months ago). Four hours later, I check my phone to see a voicemail, and I duck into the bathroom at work to play it. Apparently, they loved me and immediately invited me to join their staff!!!

Cue happy jumpy squealing freak-out in which Mr. Man tells me I sounded like a chipmunk on crack.

Less than 24 hours after making the decision to look for a position, I’m hired. I couldn’t (and still hardly can) believe it.

You want to know the funny thing?

Kristie over at Lighter Portions had just written a post about setting goals (or the lack thereof) that hit me incredibly hard. She got me thinking about the fear of the unknown, which I felt was part of the reason I was dragging my butt on applying for a “real” job. Her post, though, made me step out and set a goal:

Thanks, Kristie, for not only inspiring me to set a goal and go for it, but also for the sweet words of encouragement. Ladies like you are reason #3923721 that I love the blogging world πŸ™‚

I have a confession to make.

Even though I set my goal and put it in writing on the internet, I refused to tell anyone in real life. After I decided to look for a job, I could have asked my friends and family to wish me luck. As I sent in resumes, I could have told someone what I was doing. When I got the email to come in, part of me wanted to make a phone call to share the news. After acing the interview, I was tempted to do the same. However, it wasn’t until I was hired that I felt comfortable sharing the experience.

Why?

Simple. Fear of failure.

I’ve always been like this. Auditioning for plays in high school, heading out on first dates, I always said I didn’t want to jinx it, so I kept my plans to myself until they materialized.

If I told someone I was sending out resumes, inevitably they’d later ask how things were working out for me. Had I not gotten any responses, I’d have to deal with the shame of telling them exactly that. Had I bombed the interview, I’d have had to own my failure. When telling a story of a botched attempt, you don’t get credit for stepping outside of your comfort zone and trying. You just get pity for not quite hitting your mark. Don’t tell me that’s not the truth; I know the thought process on both ends of the spectrum.

Trying is terrifying, but not achieving is devastating. Having to face and admit your imperfections magnifies the scale even more. Letting yourself down is one thing; explaining it to others is a horse of a whole different color. I’d rather wallow in my own failure alone until I’m ready to put my brave face back on and get out there once more. Kristie’s post made me realize the same thing for goals – if I can’t establish it, I can’t go for it. Verbalizing it was scary as hell because of the inevitable risk of not being able to make it happen. Some things are out of our control – I’m talking to you, crappy economy and unstable job market – but that’s just part of life, and we can’t use it as a crutch to avoid doing everything we can control to make goals a reality.

I’m on top of the world right now. The risk paid off. (Literally. I’m no longer going to be living paycheck to paycheck, and I couldn’t be more thrilled.) The blessing of a new, full-time job couldn’t have come at a more perfect time, and I’m still giddy writing about it. The feeling of one accomplishment is more than enough to erase the pangs of previous failures.

What goal have you been mulling around in your mind for a while without actually verbalizing? Now’s the time for you to admit there’s a big dream inside of you.

17 Comments on “A Regular Girl, Celebrity Dreams.”

  1. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you.

    I do know what you mean about fear of failure. Honestly I think it’s a subconscious reason behind why I’ve struggled with my weight — as long as I was working on my weight, I didn’t have to work on anything else.

  2. Carbzilla says:

    Congratulations! I love stories like this! I hope you LOVE your new job!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The video wouldn’t work for me 😦 Nothing is showing up, but a blank white box.

  4. Faith says:

    A huge congrats to you!!! What an inspiring story. I can imagine how thrilled you are to start your new job!

  5. Dani @ Body By Nature says:

    Congratulations! That is a great accomplishment!

  6. Lindsay says:

    Huge congrats on the job, Faith! That’s sooo exciting! πŸ™‚ My big goal/dream is the whole med school thing. But that’s definitely not an unverablized thing for me. Everyone who knows me knows that I’ve been wanting to be a doctor since I was 8 years old…lol.

  7. Congrats! That is amazing news! You are going to do a fabulous job πŸ™‚

  8. WOW, congrats!!!! great news πŸ™‚

    Trying is terrifying but for some reason I have never been afraid of it, I’ve sent my share of resumees all around the world and there are jobs I didn’t get but lucky me who got her dream job anyway! I never thought I would get this job, but I did and I’m good at it πŸ™‚ there’s always a chance of success even after a failure.

  9. brandi says:

    Congrats on the job!!!

  10. Congrats! This is a huge accomplishment! So many are struggling, but it really is about putting your mind to it.

    I WILL be a small business owner by the time I’m 30. THERE IT IS! Out on the web. πŸ™‚ have a great weekend, girl!

  11. Congratulations! This is soooo big!!
    I don’t really tell anyone any of my goals… I am not too shy about telling anyone about my goals. Though I am sure that all of my facebook friends didn’t enjoy hearing my step-by-step process to getting into grad school…

  12. Congrats πŸ™‚ Good for you!

    I hesitate to share all my goals because I feel the need to explain why I may fail.

    I’m trying to find a job out East (currently living in Cali)…I’d love to make that happen before 2011!

  13. kaztronomic says:

    OMG! Congrats! That is so amazing, and you are awesome! You were brave, put yourself out there, and landed yourself a job! πŸ˜€

  14. Becky says:

    Congrats on the job!! Your days will be full of excitement in preschool.

    I have a job, but I would love to make a career change. My job is great in a lot of ways, but I know I need something different to really fulfill me. I’m still unsure of which direction I want to go.

  15. Krista says:

    CONGRATS!! That’s great news, Faith!!!

  16. Kristie says:

    Oh my gosh, this is seriously so incredible. I am SO happy for you! How amazing that it all fell together so fast and so perfectly. Even more incentive for me to just get out there and DO it, whatever it may be. Setting goals and just going for them. Forgetting the fear. You made all of the talk become reality, one of those true wow ’em “success stories”. You are awesome! I can’t WAIT to hear how the new job starts off!

  17. Sarah says:

    Congratulations are in order!
    Way to make your dreams a reality:-).


Leave a Reply

