Yeah…Or not.

So. About that pistachio butter idea.

Me, telling the boyfriend about the pistachio inheritance: “So now I have four pounds of green nuts on my hands.”

Mr. Man: “Faith…did you just castrate Shrek?”.

While I didn’t go all Lorena Bobbit on an ogre, I did produce a giant sized flop.

It started off innocently enough, with an hour of shelling, which only provided me with one lousy cup of pistachio meat and two very red thumbs.

All of that, for this lousy little pile…

…which I immediately proceeded to dump into my food processor.

Perhaps there’s not enough oil to be released from pistachios, but even after eight or nine solid minutes of grinding, I will still left with a big pile of crumbs; I ended up adding a smidge of canola oil, which just made it turn into a slimy mess.

I call this a fail so big it was almost a win.

At least there was a good takeout dinner to console me – Buddhist’s Delight to the rescue! I got hooked on it on my trip to NYC (in a little eatery with chickens hanging from the front window – how charming). A little veggie/tofu action was well appreciated after the nut butter bomb. Me not having to prepare it? Priceless.

My zumba class was absolutely fantastic!

For a chick with nearly no rhythm, it wasn’t entirely as awkward as I thought it would be. Then again, I was a cheerleader for three years, so I’m pretty good at picking up choreography. There was lots of hip work but not a ton in the arms (although my coworker and I decided to bring a light set of weights next time). My upper thighs started feeling the burn about an hour in, but we took a LOT of breaks, which was the one thing I didn’t like about the class.

Overall, it was an incredibly fun way to get moving! I think I need a few more “fun” workouts in my life – Sunday morning I dragged Mister Man out for my first run in two weeks and I kid you not, I was begging to stop after 3/4 of a mile. Not only was I miserable, stiff, and light-headed, but I couldn’t remember for the life of me why I missed running during my vacation. I may attempt a solo jog this evening, but I’m starting to think this little aversion I’m having to running could turn into an extended hiatus.

I’ve got some MAYJAH news to share with y’all next time I post – let’s just say I am one happy lady!

What was your biggest kitchen disaster? And what is one recent blessing or proud achievement in your life lately?

8 Comments on “Yeah…Or not.”

  1. Aww, bummer! Hey, kitchen flops are for learning! 🙂

  2. My biggest kitchen disaster has been every time I try and make raw soup. It’s just so gross, I waste produce, and I can’t even make myself eat it. So I’m not making any more!!

  3. ahh sorry about the pistachio butter. i really thought it be great!

    my biggest kitchen disaster was probably raw sweet potato gnocci. never. again.

    zumba sounds fun!

  4. I love Buddah’s Delight! It’s my recent chinese fav. Sorry to hear about the nut butter disaster. You’ll get it next time – karma owes you now 😉

  5. Kitchen disaster = trying to make won ton soup. The won tons all fell apart and were floating like little meatballs in the soup 🙂

  6. Almost every time I bake something it’s a failure 😀

  7. aaww darn those pistachios! Did you toss it? Maybe we can brainstorm ways to use it up??
    I have made so many kitchen disasters… I tried out some raw Indian food recipes once and they were sooo nasty. ugh.

    Can’t wait to hear your big news!! Or maybe you have already posted it…I’m a little behind in Reader 😀

  8. Krista says:

    Sorry to hear the pistachio butter was a fail! I haven’t had a fail in awhile, but I haven’t attempted anything different, either…


Leave a Reply

