Garlic Tofu and Yellow Squash

Thank you all for the best wishes at my new job. I’m terribly excited!!!

Dinner in ten minutes? Yes please. Don’t even play with me and suggest McDonalds.

1 sauteed yellow squash + 1/3 block extra firm tofu (crumbled and lightly browned in olive oil) + 1 tablespoon minced garlic + salt and pepper = a fabulous one pan/one dish meal…

Which leaves more time for the fun stuff!

Like reading cookbooks. Duh.

I recently bought this copy of Healthy Cooking for Two (Or Just You) and have been perusing it for the past several days, dreaming of culinary endeavors galore. The book boasts an incredible variety of recipes for almost any palette. While it’s not vegetarian, a majority of the dishes are meatless (or easily adaptable), and nothing is horribly complicated. The wide range of influences (from Southern to Spanish to Greek) in the book makes it a versatile resource that I’m dying to dig into. It also has an herb primer and some practical kitchen tips in the beginning (as well as spattered throughout) that are perfect for a burgeoning beginner like myself.

Standout recipes include…

  • Couscous with Sweet Potatoes and Yellow Squash
  • Essau’s Pottage
  • Hong Kong Primavera with Spicy Peanut Sauce
  • Skillet Casserole of Bulgar & Crimini Mushrooms
  • Asparagus in Orange Sauce
  • Strawberry Bleeding Hearts

I seriously would be happy to eat my way through this book. Maybe I will. Or maybe I’ll go head to Sweet Tomatoes for lunch with the fam and eat my weight in soup and salad. Either way sounds like a deal to me.

8 Comments on “Garlic Tofu and Yellow Squash”

  1. Beautiful colours in these photos 🙂

  2. Asparagus in orange sauce sounds so good, please cook that and show us pictures!

  3. The squash looks so good with the tofu… I haven’t had squash in a while after mourning my spiralizer. I believe it’s time to move on 🙂

  4. Molly says:

    yum! i’m totally making this for din-din tonight. I already have squash from the Farmer’s Market, just need some tofu. Thanks!

  5. Faith says:

    Reading cookbooks is pretty much my favorite hobby. 😉 This looks like a great way to use yellow squash…yum!

  6. kaztronomic says:

    I love easy dinners like that, that just come together in a couple minutes. I do the same thing, but use a cup of beans or so in place of the tofu. So simple and healthy and fast. 😀

    I actually had to google “pottage”. Heh. Those recipes look like they’d be amazing. I’m looking at the cookbook now on Amazon and trying to justify the purchase. Since I mostly cook for myself (I make Amor’s meals separately) that cookbook is definitely calling out to me.

  7. Krista says:

    Great one pan meal! And thanks for the book idea. I love to read recipe books, too!

  8. Sarah says:

    Oh, yum!So many of my favorite foods in one easy meal. Thanks for the great idea!


Leave a Reply

