Sunrise Barley

Good morning lovies!

It’s Thursday! I have no idea why I’m so excited for this otherwise ordinary day, but I’m feeling downright giddy! Maybe starting off with a brilliantly delicious new breakfast had something to do with it!

Sometimes oats/cereal just doesn’t cut it…

Sunrise Barley

  • 1/2 cup dry pearled barley
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 3/4 cup POM 100% pomegranate juice
  • 1 tablespoon natural turbinado sugar
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/8 cup chopped almonds

Don't judge me for using bringing home leftover juice boxes from work.

Directions: In a large pot, combine orange juice, pomegranate juice, and turbinado sugar. Bring to a boil and add barley; cover and reduce to low heat. Simmer 30 minutes or until barley is tender. There should be a slight bit of liquid left in the bottom of the pan – this will thicken to a glaze as it cools. Chill barley in refrigerator, then top with blueberries and crushed almonds.

I’m loving the tangy/sweet overtones and the blend of textures – this is a great deviation from my typical breakfast combinations.

I’m falling more and more in love with POM the more I get to play around with it! Thanks again to Ryan for sending some my way 🙂

P.S. – For some extra-curricular reading, check out my Healthy Living Blogs post today @ noon. I’m talking about what health means to me. It’s been great to read what other bloggers have to say on the role health plays in their lives.

What does health mean to you?

13 Comments on “Sunrise Barley”

  1. Sarah says:

    Health, for me, is more about balance than anything else. Fueling my body well, exercising, getting enough sleep, fueling my mind and my spirit..SO THAT I can live a full and satisfying life.

  2. Paige says:

    I’ve never had barley but this looks fantastic!

  3. oh that looks so good!! Barley huh? Is it chewy-ier than oatmeal?

  4. LOVE your new layout! Love love loveeee! And I would never thought of barley for breakfast? Definitely will have to try this out! 🙂

  5. Health means feeling good, and being happy!

  6. Kristie says:

    I need some barley up in this house! Great idea adding the POM in there too, I have a few POM coupons to put to use and I need some new things to try with it.

    As for health, I’m struggling a little with figuring that one out for myself right now, but ultimately it includes feeling balanced and happy inside and out with the choices I make for myself. When I feel like I’m making good choices and doing positive things for myself, my well being, and my life in general, that’s when I feel at my best and healthiest.

  7. greensandjeans says:

    The little character on the OJ carton is ammmmazing

  8. kaztronomic says:

    I think health is a mental thing, definitely. You could go through the motions of being healthy, but if your mind is unhealthy, then the entire body suffers. It’s about balance and harmony, I think.

    Oooh, that breakfast looks good! I would have never thought to cook my grains in juice. That sounds delicious!

  9. To me, health means having the energy to do the things I love. When I don’t feel like running or exploring, that is when I know my health isn’t at its peak.

  10. Krista says:

    Barely is my favourite grain. I love the texture of it.

    Health to me means feeding myself *good for me* foods with some treats thrown in and staying active.

  11. Halley says:

    Thanks for sharing this barley recipe. I’ve always wanted to try it out, and can’t imagine a better time to try it than at breakfast.

  12. raymond1905 says:

    OH…this looks sooo tasty. I was actually just looking at my barley this morning wondering if it would be tasty with some oats in the morning. Gonna try it, gonna try it!


Leave a Reply

